National Science Teaching Association Welcomes New Board and Council Members

ARLINGTON, Va.--()--The National Science Teaching Association, the largest professional organization in the world promoting excellence and innovation in science teaching and learning for all, welcomed five new members to its Board of Directors and six new members to its Council last month.

“Each of these individuals brings critical knowledge, experience, and unique perspectives that will enrich NSTA and help to advance the Association’s mission to promote excellence and innovation in science teaching and learning for all,” said NSTA Executive Director Dr. David Evans. “I am pleased to welcome them to the Board and Council and look forward to working with them to advance NSTA’s vital mission and goals.”

The new board members join a 13-member board that oversees NSTA’s finances, policies and procedures, and strategic planning. New board members include:

  • Elizabeth Allan, NSTA President-Elect
    Professor of Biology and Coordinator of the Secondary Science Education program, University of Central Oklahoma, Edmond, Oklahoma
  • Brenda Walsh, NSTA Division Director, High School Science Teaching
    Chemistry Teacher, Eden Prairie High School, Eden Prairie, Minnesota
  • Lisa Kenyon, NSTA Division Director, Post-Secondary Science Teaching
    Associate Professor, Department of Biological Sciences and Teaching Education, Wright State University, Dayton, Ohio
  • Zoe Evans, NSTA Division Director, Coordination & Supervision of Science Teaching
    Principal, Bowdon High School, Bowdon, Georgia
  • Norman Lederman, NSTA Division Director, Research in Science Education
    Distinguished Professor, Department of Mathematics and Science Education, Illinois Institute of Technology, Chicago, Illinois

Comprised of 18 district directors, each member of the council is the official representative of NSTA in his/her geographic district and serves as the primary liaison on issues of importance to science and improvement of science education at all levels. The council functions as the advisory body to the board of directors. New council members include:

  • Florentia Spires, NSTA District III Director (Delaware, Maryland, District of Columbia)
    Teacher/ Leader (STEM), Prince George’s County Public School System, Upper Marlboro, Maryland
  • Brian Butler, NSTA District V Director (Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands)
    District Science Curriculum Coordinator, Bibb County School District, Macon, Georgia
  • Scott Johnson, NSTA District IX Director (Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota)
    Anatomy, Chemistry & Physiology Teacher, Century High School, Bismarck, North Dakota
  • Jodi Bahr, NSTA District XI Director (Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska)
    Science Teacher, Harvard Middle/High School, Harvard, Nebraska
  • Lesley Urasky, NSTA District XV Director (Idaho, Montana, Wyoming)
    Science Instructor, Saratoga Middle/High School, Saratoga, Wyoming
  • Jeanne Chowning, NSTA District XVII Director (Alaska, Oregon, Washington)
    Senior Director, Science Education, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Seattle, Washington

For a complete listing of the NSTA Board of Directors and Council, please visit

About the National Science Teaching Association

The Arlington, VA-based National Science Teaching Association is the largest professional organization in the world promoting excellence in science teaching and learning, preschool through college. NSTA’s membership includes approximately 50,000 science teachers, science supervisors, administrators, scientists, business representatives, and others involved in science education.


Kate Falk, NSTA
(703) 312-9211

Release Summary

The National Science Teaching Association announces five new members to its Board of Directors and six new members to its Council.


Kate Falk, NSTA
(703) 312-9211