ROA Henry J. Reilly Scholarship Recipients Announced

WASHINGTON--()--Today the Reserve Officers Association of the United States, now doing business as the Reserve Organization of America, announced this year’s 22 Henry J. Reilly Scholarship recipients, who will each receive $2,500 toward their studies.

“It is a privilege to support the education of the fine scholars selected for this year’s Henry J. Reilly Scholarships,” said ROA’s executive director, Jeffrey Phillips, a retired Army Reserve major general. “These men and women represent the future of an America secured by generations of reservists who served in our nation’s military.”

Scholarship recipients will attend institutions of higher learning including Centre College; Clark Atlanta University; Harvard University, James Madison University; New York University; Oklahoma State University; Pennsylvania State University; Portland State University; Radford University; Stanford University; the universities of Kansas, Michigan, Missouri, Oklahoma, and Pittsburgh; Vassar College; Villanova University; Virginia Wesleyan College; Wright State University; and Xavier University.

“Receiving a Henry J. Reilly Scholarship is an honor, and I will remember the sacrifices of our military as I begin my life and prepare to make contributions of my own in the future. Throughout my life I hope to embody the selflessness and strength that they all possess and apply it in everything that I do,” said scholarship recipient Elizabeth Kenney, entering her sophomore year studying criminal justice and psychology at Johnson & Wales University.

“I told my granddad, who is an ROA member, and words simply cannot express how proud he is that I was selected as a recipient of The Henry J. Reilly Memorial Scholarship. I also cannot express how much this scholarship will help me financially. Receiving the award offer lifted so much financial stress that I was feeling as I am preparing to pay for my sophomore year,” said Garren Snow, studying biochemistry at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University.

Recipients of the academic year 2019-2020 Henry J. Reilly Scholarships are:

Riley Beausoleil, of Elizabethtown, Ky.
Rebecca Boelsche, of Spotsylvania, Va.
Anthony Cappetta, of Yardley, Pa.
Reagan Cloutier, of Escondido, Calif.
Madison Cooper, of Edmond, Okla.
Austin Euler, of Lithonia, Ga.
Christopher Fegan, of Chesapeake, Va.
Caelin Grambau, of Lititz, Pa.
Joseph Harrington, of Southborough, Mass.
Andrew Kanellis, of Burke, Va.
Elizabeth Kenny, of Coventry, R.I.
Hannah Kirtland, of Crestwood, Ky.
Andrew Lokay, of Fairfax, Va.
Jan Rosa, of Carolina, P.R.
Susan Sebastian, of Beavercreek, Ohio
Cameron Smith, of Overland Park, Kan.
Madeline Smith, of Olathe, Kan.
Garren Snow, of Salem, Va.
Theodore Stephens, of Midwest City, Okla.
Emma Svitil, of Alpharetta, Ga.
Madison Verzino, of Warren, Ore.
Bryan Wyks, of Leesburg, Va.

ROA congratulates these exemplary scholars and wishes them success in their studies and the pursuit of their dreams.

Henry J. Reilly Scholarships are awarded for vocational, undergraduate, and graduate studies on a competitive basis of academics, leadership and service, and potential for contribution to society. They are funded within the ROA’s STARs Foundation, a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. STARs supports the work of the ROA to enhance the security of the nation by sustaining a strong Reserve force and supporting citizen-warriors and their families who serve our country so faithfully. Scholarship applicants must be members of ROA or direct family members.

Brig. Gen. Henry J. Reilly was ROA’s first president; an artillery officer, he commanded an infantry brigade in the 42nd “Rainbow” Infantry Division in World War I. He helped Gen. John “Black Jack” Pershing found the Reserve Officers Association of the United States in 1922, to support a strong national defense in response to precipitous post-war reductions in the military. After military service, General Reilly was a journalist, historian, and lifelong proponent of education.

ROA, whose membership is open to all ranks, received its congressional charter in 1950 and is the only national organization with an exclusive focus on support of the nation’s uniformed reserve components: the National Guard, Army Reserve, Navy Reserve, Marine Corps Reserve, Air Force Reserve, Coast Guard Reserve; and the reserve components of the U.S. Public Health Service and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

The Henry J. Reilly Memorial Library and Scholarship Fund is a 501(c)3 charitable organization (EIN 52-6056998) funded by donations, which can be mailed to ROA Headquarters at 1 Constitution Avenue NE, Washington, DC 20002, or made online at Donations are tax-deductible to the extent permitted by law.

For information about ROA, please go to


Jeff Phillips

Release Summary

Reserve Organization of America (ROA) and its STARs Foundation announce AY2019-2020 Henry J. Reilly Scholarship recipients.


Jeff Phillips