Statement of Texas Energy Leaders about Port of Houston Legislation

AUSTIN, Texas--()--The Coalition for a Fair and Open Port would like to thank Lieutenant Governor Dan Patrick, Senator Carol Alvarado, and Senator Brandon Creighton for their valuable leadership with the critical issues facing the State of Texas at the Port of Houston.

The Coalition appreciates the hard work and dedication of Senator Alvarado in helping pass SB 1915 out of the Senate yesterday to restore good governance to the Port of Houston.

The Coalition also strongly supports Senator Creighton’s SB 2223, which provides the foundation of certainty upon which necessary capital investments and improvements can be made and, over the long term, maintains the dynamic “two-way” traffic that has allowed all types of businesses to thrive on the Houston Ship Channel for over a century.

SB 2223 will not only protect Texas jobs and economic growth, it will ensure that Texas continues to benefit from the recent shale revolution by allowing the growth of exports in hydrocarbons and petrochemicals to continue without constraint. In addition, the passage of these two bills will provide all stakeholders with the business certainty to both invest in and support the critical efforts to widen the Houston Ship Channel for the benefit of all.

We support the passage of both SB 1915 and SB 2223, and thank the Texas Senate for its continued work to support Texas energy dominance.


A. James Teague

Chief Executive Officer

Enterprise Products Partners LP

Steve Kean

Chief Executive Officer

Kinder Morgan Inc.

Joe Bob Perkins

Chief Executive Officer

Targa Resources Corp.


Bernt Netland

Chief Executive Officer

Intercontinental Terminals LLC

Carlin G. Conner

Chief Executive Officer

SemGroup Corp.

Mike Mears

Chief Executive Officer

Magellan Midstream Partners, LP


Vicki Hollub

President and Chief Executive Officer

Occidental Petroleum Corporation

Boudewijn Siemons

Chief Executive Officer

Vopak North America Inc.

John J. Christmann

CEO and President

Apache Corp.


D. Lance Terveen

Senior Vice President

EOG Resources, Inc.

Chris Conway

Vice President

ConocoPhillips Company


Vincent J. DiCosimo


Vincent J. DiCosimo