Owens & Minor Celebrates the 2018 Earl G. Reubel Award Winners at its 13th Annual Healthcare Supplier Diversity Symposium

Healthcare Industry Leaders Recognized for their Commitment to Diversity

RICHMOND, Va.--()--Owens & Minor, Inc. (NYSE:OMI) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2018 Earl G. Reubel Awards, which were presented this year at the 13th Annual Healthcare Supplier Diversity Symposium (HSDS). The annual awards recognize healthcare industry leaders—individuals and organizations—who advocate for diversity within the healthcare industry supply chain.

“We congratulate these winners for their enduring efforts to expand access to the healthcare supply chain to a wider range of individuals and enterprises,” said Geoff Marlatt, Senior Vice President, Manufacturer Services for Owens & Minor. “Their advocacy for diversity and their dedication to improving the healthcare supply chain is exemplary.”

Each year at the symposium, the awards are given in three healthcare industry categories: Civic Leadership, Large Corporate Leadership, and Diversity Enterprise. A fourth category was added this year—the inaugural Chairman’s Award for Excellence in Diversity and Inclusion—which was presented for the first time at the Chicago event.

The Earl G. Reubel Civic Leader of the Year Award is presented to an individual who advocates for a diverse healthcare supply chain through community outreach and education. The 2018 winner was Timothy Martin, Strategic Sourcing manager for CHRISTUS Health in Dallas/Fort Worth, Texas. Martin initiated an annual Supplier Diversity Vendor Forum and actively reaches out to minority-, women- and veteran-led companies (MWVBE’s) to provide a blueprint for working with the hospital system. Martin, who also serves as the chair of the CHRISTUS diversity council, has expanded the hospital system’s spend with diverse suppliers each year since 2012.

The Earl G. Reubel Diverse Enterprise of the Year Award is presented to a medical-surgical supplier delivering differentiated value as a MWVBE. The 2018 winner, MYCO Medical of Apex, North Carolina, is a certified diversity supplier, specializing in single-use, disposable clinical-preference items. MYCO Medical also focuses on the needs of the healthcare industry in device categories lacking competition to provide more product choice, and safe, high-quality, innovative solutions with substantial cost savings.

The Earl G. Reubel Large Corporation of the Year Award is presented to a corporation fostering a purpose driven culture of diversity and inclusion, while also leveraging diverse suppliers. The 2018 winner, Bon Secours Mercy Health in Baltimore, is a 100-bed facility licensed in the state of Maryland that serves the Baltimore area. This facility has implemented strategies designed to have a positive impact on the community, including: neighborhood revitalization efforts, creation of opportunities for youth employment and workforce development; a women’s resource center; and purchasing from local, minority-owned vendors.

The newly created HSDS Chairman’s Award for Excellence in Diversity & Inclusion recognizes an industry luminary whose demonstrated commitment to excellence in diversity and inclusion is worthy of recognition and celebration. The inaugural Chairman’s Award was awarded to Medtronic, a global biomedical engineering firm that quietly advocates for inclusion in the workforce and in the healthcare supply chain. Medtronic researches, designs, and manufactures implantable medical devices, drug and biological delivery devices, as well as powered and advanced energy surgical instruments.

The Earl G. Reubel Awards were established by Owens & Minor in 2012 and named in honor of Earl G. Reubel, the late founder and CEO of Kerma Medical Products, who embodied the essential qualities of entrepreneurship, along with civic leadership, keen business acumen, and a strong sense of loyalty.

Founded and hosted by Owens & Minor, the annual Healthcare Supplier Diversity Symposium is a forum focused on the key topics affecting the healthcare industry’s supply chain today and the ways in which the inclusion of diverse suppliers expands choices for healthcare providers and strengthens the delivery of healthcare. The 2018 symposium, sponsored by B|Braun, NTT Data, BD, Medtronic, MAC Medical, Trinity Sterile, DHC, Johnson & Johnson, Kerma, Southcoast Paper and WelchAllyn, was held in conjunction with the 2018 Healthcare Industry Diversity Association’s (HIDA) Streamlining Conference.

Owens & Minor, Inc. (NYSE: OMI) is a global healthcare solutions company with integrated technologies, products and services aligned to deliver significant and sustained value for healthcare providers and manufacturers across the continuum of care. With 17,000 dedicated teammates serving healthcare industry customers in 90 countries, Owens & Minor helps to reduce total costs across the supply chain by optimizing episode and point-of-care performance, freeing up capital and clinical resources, and managing contracts to optimize financial performance. A FORTUNE 500 company, Owens & Minor has annualized revenues of approximately $10 billion, including contributions from Halyard Health S&IP. Founded in 1882, the company now has distribution, production, customer services, and sales facilities located across Asia, Europe, Latin America and the U.S. For more information about Owens & Minor, visit owens-minor.com, follow @Owens_Minor on Twitter, and connect on LinkedIn at http://www.linkedin.com/company/owens-&-minor.

Owens & Minor is a member of the National Minority Supplier Development Council (NMSDC), the Women’s Business Enterprise National Council (WBENC) and the Healthcare Industry Distributor’s Association (HIDA).


Truitt Allcott at 804.723.7555 or

Release Summary

Owens & Minor congratulates winners of the 2018 Earl G. Reubel Awards, presented at its 13th Annual Healthcare Supplier Diversity Symposium


Truitt Allcott at 804.723.7555 or