ACT-IAC Selects “Rising Stars” for 2016 Voyagers Program Class

FAIRFAX, Va.--()--The American Council for Technology (ACT) – Industry Advisory Council (IAC) announced today its selection of participants to its prestigious 2016 Voyagers Program. The Voyagers program is a competitive leadership development program for technology “rising stars” from government and the private sector. Those who are selected and complete the program often ascend to top leadership positions within their organizations.

The top 24 candidates chosen to be a “Voyager” are selected by a panel of private sector senior executives from the leading technology companies in the nation as well as senior executives from the federal government.

Based on their technological expertise and leadership aspirations, applicants were nominated by their respective organizations. Their company or federal agency also has identified them as a potential future leader in the information technology (IT) industry.

2016 Voyagers Program Government participants are:

  • George Baden, General Services Administration
  • Drew Fagan, Department of the Interior
  • Cindy Gripper, Department of Health and Human Services
  • Brittany Hannah, General Services Administration
  • LaShayla Hopkins, Department of Housing and Urban Development
  • Evan Lee, Department of Homeland Security
  • Andrew Low, General Services Administration
  • Solomon Luke, Department of Homeland Security
  • Elvis Taylor, Department of Education
  • Nicole Thompson, Department of Health and Human Services
  • Christopher Wallace, Department of Homeland Security
  • Catrina Watkins, United States Department of Agriculture

2016 Voyagers Program Industry participants are:

  • Lindsey Averill, The Ambit Group
  • Solongo Erdenekhuyag, TrueTandem, LLC
  • Jeffry Graham, Hewlett Packard
  • Ali Kavianpour, VMware
  • Virginia Madigan, Chartis Consulting
  • Nasim Moghadam, CGI Federal
  • David Newport, Booz Allen Hamilton
  • Jenna O’Steen, Accenture Federal Services
  • Alex Porfirenko, E3 Federal Solutions
  • Joseph Portera, Sawdey Solution Services, Inc.
  • Kevin Riordan, CA, Technologies
  • Jessica Tavasti, Microsoft

Heidi Myers of Immigration and Customs Enforcement, and Susie Sylvester of Dev Technology, are this year’s Voyagers Program co-chairs. 2016 Vice Chairs are Barbara Whitelaw of the Coast Guard, Deborah Kent of the Transportation Security Administration, Mike Deutsch of Aquilent, and Steve Irish of Hewlett-Packard.

Upon graduation in May 2016, graduates become members of the distinguished ACT-IAC Fellows Program (alumni of both the Voyagers and Partners Programs). ACT-IAC Fellows are committed to life-long leadership development, trusted collaboration and working together to solve government’s biggest challenges.

For more information on the Voyagers and Partners Programs, please visit:

About ACT-IAC – Advancing Government Through Education, Collaboration and Action

ACT-IAC is the premier public-private partnership in the government IT community and an example of how government and industry work together. ACT-IAC is a nonprofit educational organization created to advance government through collaboration and education. The organization provides an objective, vendor and technology-neutral and ethical forum where government and industry are working together to develop innovative strategies, effective and efficient solutions and best practices. Headquartered in the Greater Washington, D.C. area, ACT-IAC also has chapters in Pacific region (based in San Diego) and the Rocky Mountain region (based in Denver).

Learn more about our organization and how to become a member at or call (703) 208-4800. Connect with ACT-IAC on Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn.


Angela Stauffer, 703-208-4800 ext 1330


Angela Stauffer, 703-208-4800 ext 1330