RSA(R) Conference 2006 Awards Winners Announced

RSA Conference 2006
SAN JOSE, Calif.--()--Feb. 15, 2006--

  Leaders in the Fields of Mathematics, Public Policy and Security Practices Recognized for Contributions to Information Security Industry  

RSA(R) Conference, the world's leading information security conference and exposition group, today announced the winners of the RSA Conference 2006 Awards that are designed to recognize individuals who demonstrate excellence in the field of information security and cryptography. The 2006 winners are Oded Goldreich of Weizmann Institute of Science, Ari Schwartz of the Center for Democracy & Technology and Jack Jones for his work with Nationwide Insurance. All three recipients of the 9th Annual RSA Conference awards were selected based on their exceptional contributions in the categories of Mathematics, Public Policy or Security Practices.

The 9th Annual RSA Conference Awards recipients for each category are:

-- Excellence in the Field of Mathematics:

Oded Goldreich, Professor of Computer Science, Weizmann Institute of Science

Dr. Goldreich is a professor of computer science at the faculty of mathematics and computer science of the Weizmann Institute of Science in Israel. Dr. Goldreich was recognized for his outstanding research in the interplay of randomness and computation, and the foundations of cryptography. In addition to his fundamental contributions to the foundations of cryptography, he has written a three-volume book on the theory of cryptography which has quickly become a reference book worldwide.

-- Excellence in the Field of Public Policy:

Ari Schwartz, Deputy Director, Center for Democracy & Technology

Mr. Schwartz was awarded for leading public policy efforts surrounding spyware in 2005. He founded the AntiSpyware coalition on behalf of the Center for Democracy & Technology ( He has also been instrumental in gathering evidence for a number of public actions against spyware vendors.

Excellence in the Field of Security Practices:

Jack Jones, CISSP, CISM, CISA, Chief Information Security Officer, CBCInnovis

As the former CISO of Nationwide Insurance, Mr. Jones was acknowledged for his instrumental efforts in creating an information security group of nearly 100 professionals. Under his leadership, the group has been responsible for various aspects of information risk management covering issues related to security of software and components. Additionally, he aided the development and implementation of an information security policy modeled on ISO 17799.

"Following the trend of the industry, the level of innovation in information security has grown exponentially in recent years," said Sandra Toms LaPedis, general manager and area vice president, RSA Conference. "We're pleased to recognize the forward-thinking group of organizations and individuals that is driving technological advancements for security year after year."

Winners were announced at RSA Conference 2006, currently taking place at the McEnery Convention Center in San Jose, California through Feb. 17, 2006.

About the RSA Conference

Now in its 15th year, the RSA Conference brings together decision-makers and influencers from all major markets, including consumer, education, financial, government, computer networking, telecommunications, as well as Wall Street and the media, for the industry's premier information security and cryptography events. RSA Conference 2006 will be held February 13 - 17 in San Jose, California; April 26 - 27 in Tokyo, Japan; and October 23 - 26 in Nice, France. For more information, visit

RSA, the RSA Conference logo and the RSA Security logo are registered trademarks of RSA Security Inc. All other marks are trademarks of their respective companies. (C) 2005-2006 RSA Security Inc. All rights reserved.


SHIFT Communications
Kristalle Ward, 415-591-8408


SHIFT Communications
Kristalle Ward, 415-591-8408