DTC Perspectives Magazine Names Top 25 Direct-to-Consumer Pharmaceutical Marketers of 2003

RANDOLPH, N.J.--()--(USA TODAY to Co-Sponsor Awards Luncheon at DTC National Conference in Boston on March 27, 2003)

DTC Perspectives magazine announces their Second Annual Top 25 DTC Marketers of the Year awardees.

These elite pharmaceutical marketing professionals are this year's top contributors to the advancement of direct-to-consumer (DTC) pharmaceutical marketing.

The 2003 award recipients will be honored at a special luncheon co-sponsored by USA TODAY during the DTC National Conference and Exposition March 25-27, 2003 at the Boston Sheraton Hotel. Select honorees will participate in a panel discussion on current DTC marketing issues moderated by USA TODAY.

Industry pharmaceutical companies, their agencies and suppliers submitted nominations. The Top 25 List highlights a broad range of people with DTC responsibilities, including product managers, DTC specialists, media directors, relationship marketers, Internet marketers and market researchers. The 2003 awardees are:

Top 25 DTC Marketers of the Year (listed alphabetically)

Tom Albright        Allergan       Senior Director, Marketing
Matthew Arm         Merck          Associate Director, Media & Metrics
Grif Bates          Merck          Senior Director, Integrated 
Osnat Benshashon    Amgen          Senior Marketing Manager
Cheryl Callan       Ortho-McNeil   Consumer Marketing Director
                                   (TriCyclen, Ditropan, Evra)
Anne Dayton         Sankyo         Senior Product Manager, Welchol
Sharon DeBacco      AstraZeneca    Consumer Marketing Communications
David Ennis         Pharmacia      Senior Director
Sharon Fairley      Pharmacia      Executive Director, Consumer 
Sue Foelix          Aventis        Director Marketing, Allegra
Ann Grimm           GSK            Senior Product Manager, Advair
David Grueneberg    BMS            Director, Advertising Resources
Lesa Henry          Wyeth          Senior Director, Women's Health
Kevin Holowicki     GSK            Director, Media Strategy
Jeff Kearn          TAP            Director, GI
Janice Lipsky       Pfizer         US Team Leader, Viagra
Karen Lazan         Pfizer         Lipitor
Peg Melanson        Merck          Director, Integrated Communications
Ingrid Nagy         BMS            Director, DTC Plavix
Nancy Phelan        Schering       Senior Director, Consumer 
Matthew Quilty      Ortho Biotech  Group Director, Marketing 
                                   Integration and Strategy
Linda Smith         Roche          Director, Primary Care
Denise Strauss      Bayer          Director, DTC
Dorothy Wetzel      Pfizer         Senior Director Group Leader,
                                   Consumer Marketing
Doug Wilson         Lilly          Director, Consumer Marketing

"The Top 25 is a way to recognize individual accomplishment, innovation, branding success and influence in our young industry and to recognize the DTC marketers behind leading pharmaceutical campaigns," said Bob Ehrlich, CEO of Rx Insight and Chairman of the DTC National Conference. "These individuals are leading the way at the top pharmaceutical companies."

The Second Annual Top 25 DTC Marketers of the Year is a competition established to provide industry recognition for the people who handle much of the DTC work at drug companies.

"Agencies have many industry awards for their ads, but the individual drug company marketer has few opportunities to be publicly recognized," said Ehrlich. "It is time to recognize the faces behind prominent direct-to-consumer campaigns, because their hard work and dedication to fostering the industry is often not recognized."

"There is great individual dedication and commitment within pharmaceutical companies to develop successful DTC campaigns. We are delighted to sponsor this initiative to recognize these pioneering leaders", said Maureen Consavage, Director of Northeast Sales for USA TODAY.

"The awardees were selected from many worthy candidates. We intentionally did not rank within the Top 25 because each contribution is uniquely significant," said Ehrlich. He added, "The caliber of this years' nominees surpasses our highest expectations and represents many valuable achievements in DTC marketing."

About DTC National

The DTC National Conference and Exposition (www.dtcnational.com) has quickly become the largest DTC event in the industry by delivering top quality content and unprecedented networking opportunities to its delegates. The 2002 DTC National drew 425 attendees and the expectation for 2003 exceeds 500.

About DTC Perspectives

DTC Perspectives is the only pharmaceutical industry magazine dedicated to direct-to-consumer marketing and advertising. It is published bi-monthly by Rx Insight, Inc., the leading DTC consulting, training, and publishing company and is distributed to 12,000 industry colleagues. The Spring 2003 issue will recognize the 2003 Top 25 DTC Marketers.

With an exclusive focus on DTC, and direct contact with many practitioners in the industry, DTC Perspectives is well positioned to name the best DTC company and agencies.

For more information about the Top 25 DTC Marketers of the Year awards, contact Jason Youner, DTC Perspectives Managing Editor at (973) 328-9986 or Jason@rxinsight.com. To register for the conference please visit www.dtcnational.com or call (973) 328-9997.


Rx Insight, Inc.
Furia Rubel Communications, Inc.
Gina F. Rubel, Esq., 215/704-6090
Hellen A. Spanjer, 973/328-9963


Rx Insight, Inc.
Furia Rubel Communications, Inc.
Gina F. Rubel, Esq., 215/704-6090
Hellen A. Spanjer, 973/328-9963