APQC Names 2020 Excellence in Knowledge Management Award Winners

Award recognizes organizations achieving real-world impact from knowledge management programs, including improved productivity, accelerated innovation and faster decision-making

HOUSTON--()--APQC, the benchmarking and best practices research firm, has recognized twelve organizations as winners of its Excellence in Knowledge Management award for 2020. Launched in 2019, the award is based on an analysis from APQC’s Knowledge Management Capability Assessment Tool (KM CAT), which provides an evidence-based methodology with which to measure and evaluate KM competencies across four categories: strategy, people, process and content and information technology. KM programs are recognized at either the business-unit or enterprise level.

The 2020 Excellence in Knowledge Management award winners will be formally recognized at APQC’s 25th Annual Knowledge Management Conference, to be held April 29th to May 1st at the Westin Houston.

This year’s awardees include:


  • Capital Group
  • Mercer


  • Arup
  • Cognizant Technology Solutions
  • Deloitte
  • Infosys Limited
  • NATO Communications and Information Agency
  • PTT Exploration and Production Public Company Ltd.
  • SNC-Lavalin
  • Tata Steel Limited
  • U.S. Central Command

“All of the award winners generate impactful results through sustainable knowledge management programs,” said Dr. Carla O’Dell, chairman of APQC. “We are excited to name this second class of awardees and recognize the practical, productive and measurable uses of knowledge they have established within their organizations.”

“We have conducted KM assessments for many years on hundreds of organizations around the world, providing keen insight into how companies compare to their peers in harnessing and deploying knowledge to achieve business impact,” noted Cindy Hubert, APQC executive director of client solutions. “It is our honor to once again recognize those knowledge programs that have achieved high levels of maturity and to showcase the value they are bringing to their organizations.”

By measuring every aspect of a KM program, the KM CAT identifies how KM programs stack up against others as well as where they fall on APQC’s Levels of Knowledge Management MaturitySM. These levels are based on criteria developed from best practices in KM and map the current state of KM and internal knowledge flow processes in order to:

  • Assess the maturity of the enablers and infrastructures employed,
  • Evaluate knowledge flow processes and supporting approaches,
  • Set business process improvement goals through the flow of knowledge,
  • Direct organizational change, and
  • Benchmark similar efforts among internal units or with external organizations.

As a result, organizations determine the degree of sophistication of their KM programs and the return on investment (ROI) from their efforts, thus providing a clear sense of strengths, gaps, opportunities for improvement and the appropriate steps to enhance knowledge sharing and reuse capabilities.

The 2020 Excellence in Knowledge Management award winners were those organizations (at the enterprise or business-unit level) scoring at a 3, 4 or 5 maturity level to standardize, optimize or innovate, respectively.

Those interested in submitting for the 2021 award, please visit APQC's website to learn more.


APQC helps organizations work smarter, faster and with greater confidence. It is the world’s foremost authority in benchmarking, best practices, process and performance improvement and knowledge management. APQC’s unique structure as a member-based nonprofit makes it a differentiator in the marketplace. APQC partners with more than 500 member organizations worldwide in all industries. With more than 40 years of experience, APQC remains the world’s leader in transforming organizations.


Ross Coulter

Release Summary

APQC names 2020 Excellence in Knowledge Management award winners.


Ross Coulter