APQC Announces Inaugural Excellence in Knowledge Management Award; Names 13 Winning Organizations

Award recognizes organizations achieving real-world impact from knowledge management programs, including improved productivity, accelerated innovation, faster decision-making and decreased cycle time to competency.

HOUSTON--()--APQC, the benchmarking and best practices research firm, has recognized thirteen organizations as winners of its first-ever Excellence in Knowledge Management award. The award is based on an analysis from APQC’s Knowledge Management Capability Assessment Tool (KM CAT), which provides an evidence-based methodology with which to measure and evaluate KM competencies across four categories: strategy, people, process and content and information technology.

The winners of APQC’s inaugural Excellence in Knowledge Management award include:

  • Bupa Health Insurance
  • Grant Thornton LLP
  • Infosys Ltd
  • Mercer
  • NextEra Energy – Power Generation Division
  • Schlumberger
  • Royal Dutch Shell
  • U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) – Divisions: Pacific Ocean, Great Lakes and Ohio River, South Atlantic, Southwestern, Research and Development Center
  • U.S. Internal Revenue Service

“The 2019 Excellence in Knowledge Management award winners have created sustainable programs that are yielding great results for the business,” said Dr. Carla O’Dell, chairman of APQC. “This award is a testament to the practical, productive and measurable uses of knowledge these hardworking organizations have put in place.”

“For years, APQC has been conducting knowledge management assessments with hundreds of organizations around the world,” noted Cindy Hubert, APQC executive director of client solutions. “We are excited to publicly recognize those knowledge programs that have achieved high levels of maturity and to showcase the value they are bringing to their organizations.”

By measuring every aspect of a KM program, from objectives and business case development to specific processes and technologies, the KM CAT identifies how KM programs stack up against others as well as where they fall on APQC’s Levels of Knowledge Management MaturitySM. These levels are based on criteria developed from best practices in KM and map the current state of KM and internal knowledge flow processes in order to:

  • Assess the maturity of the enablers and infrastructures employed,
  • Evaluate knowledge flow processes and supporting approaches,
  • Set business process improvement goals through the flow of knowledge,
  • Direct organizational change, and
  • Benchmark similar efforts among internal units or with external organizations.

As a result, organizations determine the degree of sophistication of their KM programs and the return on investment (ROI) from their efforts, thus providing a clear sense of strengths, gaps, opportunities for improvement and the appropriate steps to enhance knowledge sharing and reuse capabilities.

The 2019 Excellence in Knowledge Management award winners were those organizations (at the enterprise and business-unit level) scoring at a 3, 4 or 5 maturity level to standardize, optimize or innovate, respectively.

Those interested in submitting for the 2020 award, please visit APQC's website to learn more.


APQC helps organizations work smarter, faster, and with greater confidence. It is the world’s foremost authority in benchmarking, best practices, process and performance improvement and knowledge management. APQC’s unique structure as a member-based nonprofit makes it a differentiator in the marketplace. APQC partners with more than 500 member organizations worldwide in all industries. With more than 40 years of experience, APQC remains the world’s leader in transforming organizations.


Ross Coulter

Release Summary

APQC announces inaugural Excellence in Knowledge Management award; names 13 winning organizations.


Ross Coulter