Maryland Tech Council Announces the Innovation for Impact Prize and the Finalists for the 30th Anniversary Industry Awards Celebration

Winners to be Revealed May 17 at the Industry Awards Celebration

GAITHERSBURG, Md.--()--The Maryland Tech Council (MTC) has announced the finalists for its 30th Anniversary Industry Awards Celebration. Winners will be revealed at a celebration on May 17, 2018 at The Hotel at The University of Maryland. The event, which draws more than 600 executives from the technology and life science communities, celebrates individuals and companies that have made a significant impact in their sectors.

“We congratulate the finalists for the 2018 Industry Awards Celebration,” said Tami Howie, Chief Executive Officer of the Maryland Tech Council. “This year’s finalists exhibit innovation, creativity and vision and have set the standard for businesses in the region.”

Finalists for the 2018 Industry Awards Celebration are:

Chief Executive Officer of the Year:

  • Paul Green, Chief Executive Officer, G2
  • Phil Green, Chief Executive Officer, Innoplex
  • Stephen Hoffman, Chief Executive Officer, Sanaria
  • John Shetrone, President and Chief Executive Officer, Vision Technologies
  • Doug Ward, Chief Executive Officer, Personal Genome Technologies

Financial Executive of the Year:

  • Jen Leroux, Chief Operating Officer, Snag-A-Slip
  • Jon Pilon, Chief Financial Officer, Federal Resource Supply Company
  • Robert Wilson, Chief Financial Officer, Innoplex
  • Laurence Zuriff, Chief Financial Officer, Xometry

Emerging Company of the Year:

  • HelioCampus
  • Protenus
  • RightEye
  • Vigene
  • Xometry

Government Contracting Company of the Year:

  • CNSI
  • GRSi
  • Knight Sky
  • VariQ

Life Science Company of the Year:

  • Intralytix
  • Paragon Bioservices
  • Personal Genome Diagnostics
  • TissueGene

Technology Company of the Year:

  • Dataprise
  • DP Solutions
  • Mindgrub
  • Plan B Technologies
  • Sonatype
  • Vision Technologies

MTC’s annual celebration will begin at 5:00pm with cocktail hour, followed by dinner and the awards ceremony. In partnership with Alexandria Real Estate, three high school seniors will be awarded with a $3,000 STEM scholarship to pursue a STEM-related field of study at a public college or university in the state of Maryland. In addition, an educator who is furthering excellence in the classroom and exciting K-12 students about STEM will be presented with the STEM Educator of the Year Award and a $500 prize sponsored by AstraZeneca/MedImmune.

New this year, SoBran and MTC are celebrating the transformational science coming out of Maryland and surrounding areas by establishing the Innovation for Impact Prize. The Grand Prize Winner will receive a research study worth up to $20,000 and a cash prize of $1,000.

Sponsors for the event include:

Award Sponsors - AstraZeneca/MedImmune, Baird, BDO, JLL, Scheer Partners, UBS Financial Services and VWR

STEM Scholarship Sponsor - Alexandria Real Estate Equities

Gold Sponsors – BioMarker Strategies, Iron Bow Technologies, Montgomery College, Novavax, Paragon Bioservices and Social & Scientific Systems

Silver Sponsors – John Hopkins University

Launch Party Sponsor - VariQ

Finalist Reception - UBS Financial Services

Impact to Innovation Prize Sponsor – SoBran BioScience

For more information or to purchase tickets, visit the MTC website.


The Maryland Tech Council (MTC) is the largest technology trade group serving the advanced technology and biotechnology communities of Maryland. MTC’s mission is to advocate for the interests of the technology community, further the role of technology in the Maryland economy, and nurture an environment where technology companies can collaborate, grow and succeed. For more information, visit


Maryland Tech Council
Michelle Ferrone
Executive Vice President, Operations


Maryland Tech Council
Michelle Ferrone
Executive Vice President, Operations