Gerald Loeb Awards Announces Call for Entries for 2015 Competition

February 12 Deadline for Submissions in 11 Competition Categories and Two Career Achievement Honors

Loading media player...

Highlights from The 2014 Gerald Loeb Awards Banquet & Celebration

LOS ANGELES--()--UCLA Anderson School of Management and the G. and R. Loeb Foundation invite all journalists and outlets from print, online and broadcast media to submit entries in 11 competition categories and nominations for two career achievement awards for the 2015 Gerald Loeb Awards for Distinguished Business and Financial Journalism.

The Gerald Loeb Awards are the most prestigious honor in business journalism nationwide and were established in 1957 by the late Gerald Loeb, founding partner of E.F. Hutton, to recognize writers, editors and producers who make significant contributions to the understanding of business, finance and the economy for both the private investor and the general public. UCLA Anderson has been presenting the awards since 1973.

This year, all competition categories are classified Platform Neutral and encourage submissions in all journalistic forms and in any combination of forms - broadcast (video and audio), digital, print, still photography, graphics/data visualization, and social media. The previous Platform Specific categories have been replaced with the new Feature and Local categories. Detailed descriptions of category changes and additions for the 2015 competition can be found online at

Consideration is limited to entries that were published or broadcast in the United States during calendar year 2014. All entries must be submitted online at by 11:59:59 p.m. PST on Thursday, February 12, 2015.

Nominations will also be accepted for: (1) the Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognizes exceptional career contributions in the field of business, financial and economic news; and (2) the Lawrence Minard Editor Award, which recognizes career contributions in business journalism editing.

Entries Accepted in 11 Competition Categories:

  • Beat Reporting
  • Breaking News
  • Commentary
  • Explanatory
  • Feature
  • Images/Visuals
  • International
  • Investigative
  • Local
  • Personal Finance
  • Video/Audio

More information on categories and submission guidelines can be found at or by contacting The Gerald Loeb Awards office at or (310) 825-4478.

Gerald Loeb Awards Final Judges:

STEPHEN J. ADLER, Editor-in-Chief, Reuters
MATTHEW BISHOP, New York Bureau Chief, The Economist
DAVID BOARDMAN, Dean of the School of Media and Communications, Temple University
KEVIN DELANEY, Editor-in-Chief, Quartz
LAURIE HAYS, Senior Executive Editor, Bloomberg News
LARRY KRAMER, President and Publisher, USA Today
GLENN KRAMON, Senior Editor, The New York Times
JOANNE LIPMAN, Adviser, Yahoo! Media / Executive Producer, NYPR
DAVAN MAHARAJ, Editor, Los Angeles Times
TYLER MATHISEN, Co-anchor, CNBC's Power Lunch / Vice President for Strategic Editorial Initiatives, CNBC
ALAN MURRAY, Editor, Fortune
MATT MURRAY, Deputy Managing Editor, International News and Money & Investing, The Wall Street Journal
JUDY D. OLIAN, Dean, UCLA Anderson School of Management
MELANIE SILL, Vice President of Content, Southern California Public Radio
PAUL STEIGER, Executive Chairman, ProPublica
JONATHAN WALD, Executive Producer, CNN Tonight / Adjunct Professor, Columbia Graduate School of Journalism

About the Gerald Loeb Awards

The Gerald Loeb Awards were established in 1957 by the late Gerald Loeb, a founding partner of E.F. Hutton. His intention was to encourage reporting on business and finance that would inform and protect the private investor and the general public. As the most prestigious honor in business journalism, distinguished journalists and outlets nationwide submit entries to the competition. UCLA Anderson has been presenting The Gerald Loeb Awards since 1973 and the awards use a two-tier judging process comprising a preliminary round and final round. The awards banquet and celebration is held in New York City every June and is attended by the country's top business and financial publishers, editors, journalists, producers and celebrities. The Gerald Loeb Awards is a 501(3)(c) non-profit organization that operates primarily from sponsorship and private support. Follow The Gerald Loeb Awards on Twitter at and Vine at Hashtag: #LoebAwards

About UCLA Anderson School of Management:

UCLA Anderson School of Management is among the leading business schools in the world, with faculty members globally renowned for their teaching excellence and research in advancing management thinking. Located in Los Angeles, gateway to the growing economies of Latin America and Asia and a city that personifies innovation in a diverse range of endeavors, UCLA Anderson's MBA, Fully-Employed MBA, Executive MBA, Global Executive MBA for Asia Pacific, Global Executive MBA for the Americas, Master of Financial Engineering, doctoral and executive education programs embody the school's Think In The Next ethos. Annually, some 1,800 students are trained to be global leaders seeking the business models and community solutions of tomorrow. Follow UCLA Anderson on Twitter at or on Facebook at


UCLA Anderson School of Management
Jonathan Daillak, 310-825-4478

Release Summary

The Gerald Loeb Awards invite all journalists and outlets from print, online and broadcast media to submit entries for the 2015 competition during the call for entries from January 7 to February 12.


UCLA Anderson School of Management
Jonathan Daillak, 310-825-4478