Journalism and Written Media Independent Panel of Experts Submits Final Report and Recommendations to the Government of Canada

TORONTO--()--The Journalism and Written Media Independent Panel of Experts has submitted its final report and recommendations to the Government of Canada to assist with the equitable and effective implementation of tax measures in support of Canadian journalism, as outlined in the 2019 federal budget.

The report provides guidance to determine which journalism organizations qualify for these tax measures, based on criteria outlined in the budget legislation for the program, which is intended to support written news outlets that provide news of general interest to Canadian audiences.

The Panel recognizes that this program is limited in scope, and has also made recommendations for government action that goes beyond the support provided in the budget legislation. The Panel did not have a mandate to change any provisions already passed into law, but was allowed to make further recommendations.

The federal program includes refundable tax credits for qualifying journalism organizations, a non-refundable tax credit for subscriptions to Canadian digital news, and charitable status for not-for-profit journalism organizations.

To be eligible for the program, a news outlet must regularly employ two or more journalists and primarily provide original news content to a general audience.

The Panel did not attempt to develop a definition that could be used to certify officially approved news outlets. Instead, it provided guidelines on what constitutes general news, good journalistic practices and the activities normally carried out by newsroom employees.

It is the opinion of the Panel that this guidance will enable the Minister of National Revenue and the Canada Revenue Agency to implement and administer these tax measures directly, without need of an official body to certify news outlets. However, the Panel also recognizes that there will be questions about whether certain news outlets qualify for the program. Thus, the Panel has recommended, as per the budget legislation, that an advisory body be appointed to provide advice when the Canada Revenue Agency refers questions to it about matters related to journalism.

The Independent Panel consisted of the following members:

Bob Cox, News Media Canada
Esther Enkin, Canadian Association of Journalists
Brad Honywill, Unifor
Pierre-Paul Noreau, Association de la presse francophone
Brenda O’Farrell, Quebec Community Newspapers Association
Thomas Saras, National Ethnic Press and Media Council of Canada
Pascale St-Onge, Fédération nationale des communications
Pierre Sormany, Fédération professionnelle des journalistes du Québec

For more information:


Bob Cox: 204-697-7547,
Pascale St-Onge, 514-770-3898,


Bob Cox: 204-697-7547,
Pascale St-Onge, 514-770-3898,