Hospital Executives Appointed to Premier Healthcare Alliance Committees Working to Improve Care Delivery, Community Health

CHARLOTTE, N.C.--()--The Premier healthcare alliance board of directors has appointed 10 top U.S. hospital and health system leaders to a pair of stockholder committees. The committees help lead the alliance’s more than 2,500 hospitals and 80,000-plus other sites in efforts to transform and improve healthcare.

The Group Purchasing and Member Relations (GPMR) Committee and the Quality Improvement Committee (QIC), with expert executives from 37 Premier members and outside representation from the Institute for Healthcare Improvement, serve in an advisory capacity to Premier's board of directors.

“The committees play vital roles in setting direction for the alliance by collaborating with members to improve care delivery and the health of communities,” said Susan DeVore, Premier’s president and CEO. “As health reforms are underway, these leaders support alliance members by promoting transparency and offering advice on regulations and other legislative policy positions.”

Appointed by the Premier board of directors as new members of the GPMR Committee are:

  • Nancy Agee, president and CEO, Carilion Clinic, Roanoke, Va.;
  • Doug Cropper, president and CEO, Genesis Health System, Davenport, Iowa;
  • Laura Easton, R.N., president and CEO, Caldwell Memorial Hospital, Lenoir, N.C.;
  • John Singerling, president, Palmetto Health, Columbia, S.C.; and
  • Bill Wing, senior vice president, Adventist Health, Roseville, Calif.

Appointed by the Premier board of directors as new members of the QIC are:

  • Vicki Darnell, president and CEO, Ephraim McDowell Health, Danville, Ky.;
  • Fred Manchur, president and CEO, Kettering Health Network, Kettering, Ohio;
  • Neil Meltzer, president and CEO, Sinai Hospital of Baltimore and senior vice president, LifeBridge Health, Baltimore;
  • Mark Merrill, president and CEO, Valley Health System, Winchester, Va.; and
  • Fredrick Slunecka, chief operating officer, Avera Health, Sioux Falls, S.D.

Other members of the GPMR Committee include: Joann Anderson, president and CEO, Southeastern Regional Medical Center, Lumberton, N.C.; Katherine Arbuckle, executive vice president and chief financial officer, Bon Secours Health System Inc., Marriottsville, Md.; Diane Ashley, president and CEO, Seagate Alliance LLC, Rochester, N.Y.; Thomas Burke, M.D., executive vice president and physician-in-chief, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston; Dennis Dahlen, senior vice president and chief financial officer, Banner Health, Phoenix; John Knox, executive vice president and chief administrative officer, Carolinas HealthCare System, Charlotte, N.C.; Steven Mickus, chief operating officer, Catholic Health Partners, Cincinnati; Michael Nagowski, CEO, Cape Fear Valley Health System, Fayetteville, N.C.; James Oliver, president and CEO, Yankee Alliance Inc., Andover, Mass.; Marvin O'Quinn, executive vice president and chief operating officer, Catholic Healthcare West, San Francisco; Thomas Rockers, president and CEO, St. Anthony's Medical Center, St. Louis; Tracy Rogers, vice president and corporate chief operating officer, Alexian Brothers Health System, Arlington Heights, Ill.; Terry Shaw, executive vice president, chief financial officer/chief operations officer, Adventist Health System, Winter Park, Fla.; Steven Sonenreich, president and CEO, Mount Sinai Medical Center, Miami Beach, Fla.; and Barry Steichen, executive vice president, chief administrative officer and chief financial officer, Saint Francis Health System, Tulsa, Okla.

Other members of the QIC include: Evan Benjamin, senior vice president, Baystate Health, Springfield, Mass.; Maureen Bisognano, president and CEO, Institute for Healthcare Improvement, Cambridge, Mass.; Jane Crowley, executive vice president and chief administrative officer, Catholic Health Partners, Cincinnati; John Currin, CEO, Alamance Regional Medical Center, Burlington, N.C.; Rhonda Forsyth, president and CEO, John C. Lincoln Health Network, Phoenix; Norman Gruber, president and CEO, Salem Hospital, Salem, Ore.; Stephen Mason, president and CEO, BayCare Health System, Clearwater, Fla.; Margaret Naleppa, president and CEO, Peninsula Regional Medical Center and Health System, Salisbury, Md.; Ron Paulus, M.D., president and CEO, Mission Health System, Asheville, N.C.; Marlon Priest, M.D., chief medical officer, Bon Secours Health System, Marriottsville, Md.; Roger Ray, M.D., executive vice president and chief medical officer, Carolinas HealthCare System, Charlotte, N.C.; and William Thompson, president and CEO, SSM Health Care, St. Louis.

About the Premier healthcare alliance, Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award recipient

Premier is a performance improvement alliance of more than 2,500 U.S. hospitals and 80,000-plus other healthcare sites using the power of collaboration to lead the transformation to high quality, cost-effective care. Owned by hospitals, health systems and other providers, Premier maintains the nation's most comprehensive repository of clinical, financial and outcomes information and operates a leading healthcare purchasing network. A world leader in helping deliver measurable improvements in care, Premier has worked with the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services and the United Kingdom's National Health Service North West to improve hospital performance. Headquartered in Charlotte, N.C., Premier also has an office in Washington. Stay connected with Premier on Facebook, Twitter and YouTube.


Premier healthcare alliance
Alven Weil, 704-816-5797

Release Summary

Hospital executives appointed to Premier healthcare alliance committees working to improve care delivery, community health


Premier healthcare alliance
Alven Weil, 704-816-5797