Maryland Tech Council Announces Winners of 30th Annual Industry Awards

GAITHERSBURG, Md.--()--The Maryland Tech Council (MTC), Maryland’s largest technology trade association, announced the winners of its 30th Annual Industry Awards during a celebration and ceremony at The Hotel at the University of Maryland attended by more than 550 business leaders from around the state.

“As we celebrate the 30th Anniversary of our Industry Awards Celebration, this year’s winners truly represent the best in innovation and reflect the evolution in Maryland over the last 30 years,” said Tami Howie, CEO of the Maryland Tech Council. “We are proud to honor this year’s winners for their relentless dedication to the life science and technology industries in Maryland.”

Winners of the 2018 Industry Awards Celebration are:

STEM Scholarship Award
Ryan Hong, Middletown High School
Olivia Stephens, Damascus High School
Dayja Young, Charles Herbert Flowers High School

VMS Volunteer of the Year
Lisa Beth Ferstenberg

VMS Mentee Company of the Year
Remedy Plan Therapeutics

Innovation for Impact Prize
Dr. Emily English, Chief Operating Officer, Gemstone Biotherapeutics

Harvey D. Kushner Innovation Award

STEM Educator of the Year
Brendan Gallagher, Teacher, Carroll County Career & Technology Center

Emerging Company of the Year

Government Contracting Company of the Year

Financial Executive of the Year
Laurence Zuriff, Chief Financial Officer, Xometry

Technology Company of the Year

Life Science Company of the Year
Paragon Bioservices

Chief Executive Officer of the Year
John Shetrone, President and Chief Executive Officer, Vision Technologies

Event sponsors included:

Award Sponsors – AstraZeneca/MedImmune, Baird, BDO, JLL, Pillsbury, Scheer Partners, UBS Financial Services and VWR

Gold Sponsors – American Gene Technologies, BioMarker Strategies, Biotechnology Innovation Organization, Cordia Partners and Resources, Houlihan Lokey, Iron Bow Technologies, Montgomery College, Novavax, Paragon Bioservices, Sanaria, Social & Scientific Systems and University of Maryland

Silver Sponsors – Expedient and Johns Hopkins University

Launch Party Sponsor – VariQ

Finalist Reception Sponsor – UBS Financial Services

STEM Scholarship Sponsor – Alexandria Real Estate Equities

Innovation for Impact Prize Sponsor – SoBran BioScience


The Maryland Tech Council (MTC) is the largest technology trade group serving the advanced technology and biotechnology communities of Maryland. MTC’s mission is to advocate for the interests of the technology community, further the role of technology in the Maryland economy, and nurture an environment where technology companies can collaborate, grow and succeed. For more information, visit


Maryland Tech Council
Michelle Ferrone
Executive Vice President, Operations


Maryland Tech Council
Michelle Ferrone
Executive Vice President, Operations