2018 Heritage Provider Network Healthcare Innovation Awards Announces 26 Finalists

Heritage Provider Network & Crain’s New York Business, Custom Division, to Unveil This Year’s Winners at Celebratory Luncheon Honoring Healthcare Trailblazers in New York Metropolitan Area

MARINA DEL REY, Calif.--()--Heritage Provider Network (HPN), one of the nation's leading physician-led managed care organizations, in partnership with Crain’s Custom Studio – a division of Crain’s New York Business – will honor the 26 finalists in the 3rd annual Heritage Healthcare Innovation Awards for transforming access to and quality of affordable healthcare in the New York metropolitan area.

The celebratory luncheon will be held on Monday, May 21st from 11:30 AM to 2:00 PM at the New York Athletic Club and will unveil the five winners of this year’s awards in the following categories: Heritage Innovation in Healthcare Delivery Award; Heritage Healthcare Leadership Award; Heritage Healthcare Organizational Leadership Award; Heritage Innovators in Healthcare Awards and Heritage Research Investigators in Translational Medicine Award.

This year’s finalists include:

Heritage Innovation in Healthcare Delivery Award

Peter B. Bach, MD, MAPP, Director, Center for Health Policy and Outcomes, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Dedi Gilad, CEO and Co-founder, Tyto Care

Manmeet Kaur, CEO and Founder, City Health Works

Timothy C. Peck, MD, Co-founder and CEO, Call9

Jorge R. Petit, MD, CEO, Coordinated Behavioral Care

Heritage Healthcare Leadership Award

Steven J. Corwin, MD, President and CEO, NewYork-Presbyterian

Glen de Vries, President and Co-founder, Medidata Solutions

Deborah Estrin, Tishman Professor of Computer Science and Associate Dean, Cornell Tech

John W. Rowe, MD, Julius B. Richmond Professor of Health Policy and Aging, Columbia University Maliman School of Public Health

David Sandman, PhD, President and CEO, New York State Health Foundation

Heritage Healthcare Organizational Leadership Award

Coordinated Behavioral Care- Jorge R. Petit, MD - CEO

Essen Health Care - Sumir Sahgal, MD - Chief Medical Officer

Healthfirst - Pat Wang, President and CEO

Mount Sinai Health System - Kenneth L. Davis, MD, President and CEO

Weill Cornell Community Clinic - Pamela Charney, MD, Medical Director; Andrew Iannone, Executive Director; Maria Passarelli, Executive Director

Heritage Innovators in Healthcare Award

Anthony J. Bacchi, MD, Founder and CEO, TeliStat™

Manik Bhat, CEO, Healthify

Esther Dyson, Executive Founder, Wellville

Katelyn Gleason, Founder and CEO, Eligible

Matt Loper, Co-founder and CEO, Wellth

Heritage Research Investigators in Translational Medicine Award

David Artis, PhD, Director, Jill Roberts Institute for Research in Inflammatory Bowel Disease, Weill Cornell Medicine

Thomas Fuchs, PhD, Co-Founder and Chief Science Officer, Paige.AI; Director, Computational Pathology, Warren Alpert Center for Digital and Computational Pathology, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center; Professor, Weill Cornell Graduate School of Medical Sciences

Nina Tandon, PhD, CEO and Co-founder, EpiBone

Nancy Thornberry, CEO, Kallyope

Bruce T. Volpe, MD, Professor, The Feinstein Institute for Medical Research

Jedd D. Wolchok, MD, PhD, Lloyd J. Old/Virginia and Daniel K. Ludwig Chair in Clinical Investigation; Chief, Melanoma & Immunotherapeutics Service; Director, Parker Institute for Cancer Immunotherapy at MSK; Associate Director, Ludwig Center for Cancer Immunotherapy; Member, Ludwig Cancer Research; Professor of Medicine, Weill Medical College of Cornell University, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

The panel of judges includes:

Richard Merkin, MD, President and CEO, Heritage Provider Network

Mitra Behroozi, Executive Director, 1199SEIU Benefit and Pension Funds

Stephen Berger, Chairman, Odyssey Partners

Louise Cohen, MPH, CEO, Primary Care Development Corp.

Dr. Rosa M. Gil, DSW, President and CEO, Comunilife, Inc.

Maria Gotsch, President and CEO, Partnership Fund for New York City

Doug Hayes, Founder and CEO, Junto Health

Steven Krein, CEO and Cofounder, StartUp Health

Freda C. Lewis-Hall, MD, DFAPA, Executive Vice President, Chief Medical Officer, Pfizer Inc.

Edgar Mandeville, MD, FACOG, Former Director, Department of OB/GYN, Harlem Hospital

Mary OʼNeil Mundinger, DrPh, Edward M. Kennedy Professor of Health Policy, Dean Emeritus, Columbia University School of Nursing

Judith A. Salerno, MD, MS, President, The New York Academy of Medicine

Michael Stocker, MD, Retired CEO, Empire Blue Cross and Blue Shield, Former Board Chairman, New York City Health and Hospitals Corp.

For more information, visit www.crainsnewyork.com/heritage.

To learn more about the impact of the program from judges and 2017 winners, watch the video here: https://bcove.video/2JHo8m7.

About Heritage Provider Network

Heritage Provider Network, Inc. (HPN) is one of the most experienced physician organization leaders of accountable care and continuous value-based healthcare delivery improvements. Developing and managing coordinated, patient-doctor centric, integrated health care systems that offers some of the strongest solutions for the future of health, care and cost in the United States. HPN and its affiliates operate in New York, California, Arizona and Missouri providing high quality, cost effective healthcare with over one million patient members and are dedicated to quality, affordable health care, and putting patients' wellness first. (www.heritageprovidernetwork.com)

Crain’s New York Business

Crain's New York Business provides news, information and connections on all facets of New York through the prism of business. Crain’s is the leading source of information on the New York economy, the companies and industries that operate here, and connections between government and industry. Crain’s publishes daily news coverage on crainsnewyork.com, weekly coverage in print, and two specialized online daily reports—Insider and Pulse—providing scoops and inside information on politics and health care. Readers come to Crain's for in-depth coverage of the many industries that make up the fabric of New York's business community.


Jennifer Passaretti, 212-402-3492
Janet Janjigian, 310-466-0735


Jennifer Passaretti, 212-402-3492
Janet Janjigian, 310-466-0735