Top Scholarly Publishing Award Goes to Bloomsbury for Arcadian Library Online

2018 PROSE Award for Excellence winners include eProducts, journals and books reflecting the diversity of professional and scholarly publishing

WASHINGTON--()--The Association of American Publishers (AAP) has announced the winners of the 2018 PROSE Awards (#PROSEAwards), the publishing industry’s highest honors for professional and scholarly works. Bloomsbury Publishing beat out 550 other entries to win the industry’s top honor – the R.R. Hawkins Award – for Arcadian Library Online, a specially designed and expertly curated digital platform.

Bloomsbury Publishing partnered with the Arcadian Library to digitize its rich collection of rare ancient manuscripts and early books that document the shared cultural heritage of Europe and the Middle East. Having launched with the Arcadian Library’s History of Science and Medicine holdings, Arcadian Library Online is interactive, mobile-responsive, and searchable in English and Arabic.

“The platform is superbly designed to fulfill the deeply worthy and opportune mission of the library and, as a result, Arcadian Library Online is a thoroughly worthy winner of the 2018 R.R. Hawkins Award,” said Nigel Fletcher-Jones, Co-Chair of the 2018 PROSE Awards.

The 2018 PROSE Awards honor the best scholarly works published in 2017. Publishers submitted more than 550 books, journals and eProducts for consideration in 51 subject categories within five areas of excellence: Biological and Life Sciences, Humanities, Physical Sciences & Mathematics, Reference Works, and Social Sciences. Winners in each of the 51 subject categories then compete for an award for excellence.

The 2018 Award for Excellence winners are:

PROSE Award for Excellence in Biological & Life Sciences
The MIT Press
Language in Our Brain: The Origins of a Uniquely Human Capacity
By Angela D. Friederici

PROSE Award for Excellence in Humanities
Oxford University Press
Jane Crow: The Life of Pauli Murray
By Rosalind Rosenberg

PROSE Award for Excellence in Physical Sciences & Mathematics
Cell Press
CHEM (journal)
Robert D. Eagling, Editor-in-Chief

PROSE Award for Excellence in Reference Works
Bloomsbury Publishing
Arcadian Library Online
By The Arcadian Library/Bloomsbury Publishing

PROSE Award for Excellence in Social Sciences
Princeton University Press
Adaptive Markets: Financial Evolution at the Speed of Thought
By Andrew W. Lo

For a complete list of 2018 PROSE Awards see:

About the R.R. Hawkins and PROSE Awards

The R.R. Hawkins Award was created in 1976 to recognize the most outstanding scholarly work in all disciplines of the arts and sciences. It is the ultimate winner of a given year’s PROSE Award competition. For 42 years, the PROSE Awards have recognized the best books, journals and digital content produced by professional and scholarly publishers. The entries are reviewed by a panel of 18 judges that includes editors, academics, publishers and research librarians who evaluate each work and its contribution to professional and scholarly publishing.

About the Association of American Publishers

AAP | The Association of American Publishers represents the leading book, journal, and education publishers in the United States on matters of law and policy, advocating for outcomes that incentivize the publication of creative expression, professional content, and learning solutions. As essential participants in local markets and the global economy, our members invest in and inspire the exchange of ideas, transforming the world we live in one word at a time.

Find us online at or on twitter at @AmericanPublish.


Association of American Publishers
Marisa Bluestone, 202-423-9975

Release Summary

AAP announced winners of the 2018 PROSE Awards, with Bloomsbury Publishing winning the top scholarly publishing prize for Arcadian Library Online


Association of American Publishers
Marisa Bluestone, 202-423-9975