UCLA Anderson School of Management Announces 2015 Gerald Loeb Award Winners

Lifetime Achievement Award Goes to James Grant,
Rebecca Blumenstein Receives Lawrence Minard Editor Award

UCLA Anderson presents The 2015 Gerald Loeb Awards in New York City (Photo: Business Wire)

NEW YORK--()--Journalists from across the nation gathered tonight at Capitale for the 2015 Gerald Loeb Awards banquet. The Gerald Loeb Awards are among the highest honors in journalism, recognizing the work of journalists whose contributions illuminate the world of business, finance and the economy for readers and viewers around the world.

Judy D. Olian, dean of UCLA Anderson School of Management and chairman of the G. and R. Loeb Foundation, welcomed Loeb Awards honorees and their guests. CNBC's Mandy Drury, co-anchor of CNBC's Power Lunch, served as master of ceremonies.

The Gerald Loeb Awards include two special awards for career contributions: the Lifetime Achievement Award, which was presented to James Grant, founder and editor of Grant’s Interest Rate Observer, and the Lawrence Minard Editor Award, which went to Rebecca Blumenstein, deputy editor in chief of The Wall Street Journal. In addition, winners of 11 competition categories were named at the banquet. The following is a list of the 2015 Loeb Award recipients.

Beat Reporting Winner
“Lobbying in America,” by Eric Lipton, Ben Protess, Nicholas Confessore and Brooke Williams, The New York Times

Breaking News Winner
“Abdication of the ‘Bond King,’” by Gregory Zuckerman and Kirsten Grind, The Wall Street Journal

Commentary Winner
“Wall Street Accountability,” by Jesse Eisinger, ProPublica

Explanatory Winner
“Borrowing Trouble,” by Jason Grotto and Heather Gillers, Chicago Tribune

Feature Winner
“California Goes Nuts,” by Tom Philpott and Matt Black, Mother Jones

Images/Visuals Winner
“Economic Tools & Visualizations,” by Gregor Aisch, Wilson Andrews, Jeremy Ashkenas, Matthew Bloch, Mike Bostock, Shan Carter, Haeyoun Park, Alicia Parlapiano and Archie Tse, The New York Times

International Winner
“Product of Mexico,” by Richard Marosi and Don Bartletti, Los Angeles Times

Investigative Winner
“Medicare Unmasked,” by Christopher S. Stewart, Christopher Weaver, John Carreyrou, Rob Barry, Anna Wilde Mathews and Tom McGinty, The Wall Street Journal

Local Winners
“Misleading March to the Top,” by Mike Hendricks and Mará Rose Williams, The Kansas City Star

“Unchecked Care,” by Chris Serres and Glenn Howatt, Minneapolis Star Tribune

Personal Finance Winner
“Helping Retirees Navigate Pension Cuts in Detroit’s Bankruptcy,” by Susan Tompor, Detroit Free Press

Video/Audio Winner
“Inside Sysco: Exposing North America’s Food Sheds,” by Vicky Nguyen, Kevin Nious, Jeremy Carroll, Felipe Escamilla, David Paredes, Julie Putnam and Mark Villarreal, KNTV

The board of trustees of the G. and R. Loeb Foundation and UCLA Anderson wish to thank all those who contributed to the success of the 2015 Loeb Awards. Platinum Sponsors: Bloomberg, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal; Gold Sponsors: JPMorgan Chase and Reuters; Silver Sponsors: ABC News, Arbiter Partners, Financial Times, Fortune, Grant’s Interest Rate Observer, Seth Klarman, Kynikos Associates LP, Los Angeles Times, USA Today; Bronze Sponsors: CNN, The Street and Yahoo! Finance; Loeb Associates: Burson-Marsteller, International Business Times and Prudential. For more information about the Loeb Awards, please visit the Loeb Awards website at http://www.loeb.anderson.ucla.edu.

About The Gerald Loeb Awards

The Gerald Loeb Awards were established in 1957 by the late Gerald Loeb, a founding partner of E.F. Hutton. His intention was to encourage reporting on business and finance that would inform and protect the private investor and the general public. Distinguished journalists and outlets nationwide submit entries to compete for the most prestigious honor in business journalism. UCLA Anderson has been presenting The Gerald Loeb Awards since 1973 and the awards use a two-tier judging process comprising a preliminary round and final round. The awards banquet and celebration is held in New York City every June and is attended by the country's top business and financial publishers, editors, journalists, producers and celebrities. The Gerald Loeb Awards is a 501(3)(c) nonprofit organization that operates primarily from sponsorship and private support. Follow The Gerald Loeb Awards on Twitter @LoebAwards. Hashtag: #LoebAwards

About UCLA Anderson School of Management

UCLA Anderson School of Management is among the leading business schools in the world, with faculty members globally renowned for their teaching excellence and research in advancing management thinking. Located in Los Angeles, gateway to the growing economies of Latin America and Asia and a city that personifies innovation in a diverse range of endeavors, UCLA Anderson's MBA, Fully-Employed MBA, Executive MBA, Global Executive MBA for Asia Pacific, Global Executive MBA for the Americas, Master of Financial Engineering, doctoral and executive education programs embody the school's Think In The Next ethos. Annually, some 1,800 students are trained to be global leaders seeking the business models and community solutions of tomorrow.

Follow UCLA Anderson on Twitter or on Facebook


UCLA Anderson School of Management
Jonathan Daillak, 310-794-4169

Release Summary

UCLA Anderson School of Management announces The 2015 Gerald Loeb Award Winners. The Lifetime Achievement Award goes to James Grant; and Rebecca Blumenstein receives Lawrence Minard Editor Award.


UCLA Anderson School of Management
Jonathan Daillak, 310-794-4169