UCLA Anderson School of Management Announces 2014 Gerald Loeb Award Winners

Lifetime Achievement Award Goes to James Flanigan, John Brecher Receives Lawrence Minard Editor Award

CNBC's Mandy Drury serves as master of ceremonies at the 2014 Gerald Loeb Awards in NYC. (Photo: Business Wire)

NEW YORK--()--Journalists from across the nation gathered tonight at Capitale for the 2014 Gerald Loeb Awards banquet. The Gerald Loeb Awards are among the highest honors in journalism, recognizing the work of journalists whose contributions illuminate the world of business, finance and the economy for readers and viewers worldwide.

Judy D. Olian, dean of UCLA Anderson School of Management and chairman of the G. and R. Loeb Foundation, welcomed Loeb Awards honorees and their guests. Mandy Drury, co-anchor of CNBC's “Street Signs,” served as master of ceremonies.

The Gerald Loeb Awards featured two special awards for career contributions: the Lifetime Achievement Award, which was presented to James Flanigan, former business journalist at the Los Angeles Times, and the Lawrence Minard Editor Award, which went to John Brecher, executive editor for enterprise at Bloomberg News. In addition, winners of 14 competition categories were announced at the banquet. The following is a list of the 2014 Loeb Award recipients.

Beat Reporting Winner
“Duke Energy and Nuclear Power in Florida,” by Ivan Penn, Tampa Bay Times

Breaking News Winner
“Bangladesh,” by Jim Yardley, Julfikar Ali Manik, and Steven Greenhouse, The New York Times

Commentary Winner
“Commentary by Peter Goodman,” by Peter Goodman, The Huffington Post

Explanatory Winner
“Assets of the Ayatollah,” by Steve Stecklow, Babak Dehghanpisheh, and Yeganeh Torbati, Reuters

Images/Visuals Winner
“Interactive Graphics,” by Ford Fessenden, Tom Giratikanon, Josh Keller, Archie Tse, Tim Wallace, Derek Watkins, Jeremy White, Karen Yourish, Shan Carter, Hannah Fairfield, Alicia Parlapiano, Mike Bostock, Amanda Cox, Matthew Ericson, Kevin Quealy, and Josh Williams, The New York Times

International Winner
“The Shortest Route to Riches,” by Kerry A. Dolan and Rafael Marques de Morais, Forbes

Investigative Winner
“Breathless and Burdened: Dying from Black Lung, Buried by Law and Medicine,” by Chris Hamby, Brian Ross, Matthew Mosk, Rhonda Schwartz, Chris Zubak-Skees, Ronnie Greene, and Jim Morris, The Center for Public Integrity, in partnership with ABC News

Magazines Winner
“Stranded: An iPhone Tester Caught in Apple’s Supply Chain,” by Cam Simpson, Bloomberg Businessweek

News Services Winner
“Rigging the World’s Biggest Market,” by Liam Vaughan, Gavin Finch, Bob Ivry, and Ambereen Choudhury, Bloomberg News

Large Newspapers Winner
“Five of the NSA Stories,” by Barton Gellman, Laura Poitras, Ellen Nakashima, Craig Timberg, Steven Rich, and Ashkan Soltani, The Washington Post

Small & Medium Newspapers Winner
“Deadly Delays,” by Ellen Gabler, Mark Johnson, John Fauber, Allan James Vestal, and Kristyna Wentz-Graff, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

Online Winner
“Planet Money Makes A T-Shirt,” by Kainaz Amaria, Alex Blumberg, Brian Boyer, Jacob Goldstein, and Wes Lindamood, NPR

Personal Finance Winner
“60 Minutes: 40 Million Mistakes,” by Steve Kroft, Bill Owens, Jeff Fager, James Jacoby, Michael Karzis, and Matthew Lev, CBS News

Video/Audio Winner
“Under the Hood: The AAMCO Investigation,” by Tisha Thompson, Rick Yarborough, Jeff Piper, and Mike Goldrick, WRC-TV

The board of trustees of the G. and R. Loeb Foundation and UCLA Anderson wish to thank all those who contributed to the success of the 2014 Loeb Awards. Platinum Sponsors: Bloomberg, The New York Times, Reuters; Silver Sponsors: ABC News, CNN Money, Forbes, International Business Times, Los Angeles Times, USA Today, The Wall Street Journal; Bronze Sponsors: CNBC and Fortune. For more information about the Loeb Awards, please visit the Loeb Awards website at http://www.loeb.anderson.ucla.edu.

About The Gerald Loeb Awards

The Gerald Loeb Awards were established in 1957 by the late Gerald Loeb, a founding partner of E.F. Hutton. His intention was to encourage reporting on business and finance that would inform and protect the private investor and the general public. As the most prestigious honor in business journalism, distinguished journalists and media outlets nationwide submit entries to the competition. UCLA Anderson has been presenting The Gerald Loeb Awards since 1973 and the awards use a two-tier judging process comprising a preliminary round and final round. The awards banquet and celebration is held in New York City every June and is attended by the country's top business and financial publishers, editors, journalists, producers, and celebrities. The Gerald Loeb Awards is a 501(3)(c) non-profit organization that operates primarily from sponsorship and private support. Follow The Gerald Loeb Awards on Twitter at http://twitter.com/LoebAwards and on Vine at http://vine.co/LoebAwards.

About UCLA Anderson School of Management

UCLA Anderson School of Management is among the leading business schools in the world, with faculty members globally renowned for their teaching excellence and research in advancing management thinking. Located in Los Angeles, gateway to the growing economies of Latin America and Asia and a city that personifies innovation in a diverse range of endeavors, UCLA Anderson's MBA, Fully Employed MBA, Executive MBA, Global Executive MBA for Asia Pacific, Global Executive MBA for the Americas, Master of Financial Engineering, doctoral and executive education programs embody the school's Think In The Next ethos. Annually, some 1,800 students are trained to be global leaders seeking the business models and community solutions of tomorrow. Follow UCLA Anderson on Twitter at http://twitter.com/UCLAAnderson or on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/uclaanderson.


UCLA Anderson School of Management
Jonathan Daillak, (310) 825-4478

Release Summary

The Gerald Loeb Awards are among the highest honors in journalism, recognizing the work of journalists whose contributions illuminate the world of business, finance and the economy.


UCLA Anderson School of Management
Jonathan Daillak, (310) 825-4478