UPS Honors Florida Drivers for 25 Years of Safe Driving

JACKSONVILLE, Fla.--()--UPS (NYSE:UPS) today announced 96 elite drivers from Florida are among 1,519 newly inducted worldwide into the Circle of Honor, an honorary organization for UPS drivers who have achieved 25 or more years of accident-free driving.

Florida boasts 416 active Circle of Honor drivers with a combined 11,702 years of accident-free driving. Michael Olson of Cantonment is the state’s senior safe driver, with 40 years of accident-free driving under his belt. There are 4,732 total UPS drivers in Florida.

Globally, 7,221 active UPS drivers are members of the Circle of Honor. Collectively they’ve racked up over 198,000 years and more than 5.3 billion safe miles during their careers. That’s enough miles to travel to Mars and back 19 times.

“My thanks go to all of them for their dedication and focus, and for the countless lives they’ve saved,” said David Ruiz, president, UPS Florida District.

Globally, the most seasoned UPS Circle of Honor driver is Thomas Camp of Livonia, Mich., with 51 years of driving without an accident. Ronald McKnight of the Bronx, N.Y., is next in line with 45 years of safe driving. Forty others have logged at least 40 years without an accident.

UPS’s 102,000 drivers are among the safest on the roads, logging nearly 3 billion miles a year and averaging less than one accident for every million miles driven.

UPS invested $175 million in 2013 on safety training and employs its own comprehensive driving course called “Space and Visibility.” All UPS drivers are taught safe driving methods beginning on the first day of classroom training through the company’s defensive driving platform. The training continues throughout their careers.

Founded in 1907, UPS has a rich history of safety and training. The company issued its first driver handbook in 1917 and began recognizing safe drivers in 1923. In 1928, UPS recognized its first five-year safe driver, Ray McCue, with UPS founder Jim Casey presenting him a gold and platinum watch. UPS formally established its safe driving honor program in 1928.

More information on UPS’s commitment to safety is available at

A complete list by state of new Circle of Honor inductees, infographic and a logo can be found at

UPS (NYSE:UPS) is a global leader in logistics, offering a broad range of solutions including the transportation of packages and freight; the facilitation of international trade, and the deployment of advanced technology to more efficiently manage the world of business. Headquartered in Atlanta, UPS serves more than 220 countries and territories worldwide. The company can be found on the Web at and its corporate blog can be found at To get UPS news direct, visit

** NOTE: The following is a list of local drivers by hometown and UPS center. If you’re interested in interviewing or riding along with a local driver, please contact Dan McMackin at

Following is a list of Florida drivers inducted this year to the Circle of Honor.

Driver   Hometown   UPS Work Location
Mark Akin   West Palm Bch   Jupiter
Luis Ayan   Miami   Hialeah
Steve Barger   Chipley   Chipley
Craig Barnard   Boca Raton   Deerfield S
Juan Benavides   Pembroke Pines   Hialeah Metro
Scott Berry   Boynton Beach   Deerfield
Dennis Beutler   Tampa   Bayside Center
Wayne Bloodsworth Jr   High Springs   Gainesville Center
Anthony Blount   Pensacola   Montgomery
Randy Brosius   Ocala   Ocala Center
Raymond Brunette   Venice   Port Charlotte
Larry Bullock   Pensacola   Pensacola Center
Richard Bushey Sr   Port St Lucie   Ft. Pierce
Harry Campbell   Seminole   St Pete
Joseph Cavanagh   Pembroke Pines   Hollywood
Larry Clark   Jacksonville   Jacksonville
Andrew Conrad   Estero   Hialeah
Ronald Croy   Wesley Chapel   Tampa
Nicholas Curtis   Winter Garden   Orlando West
William Dampier II   Macclenny   Jacksonville
Carl Daniels Jr   Jacksonville   Jacksonville
Ronald Davis   New Port Richey   Orlando Hub
John Degen   Royal Palm Bch   Jupiter
Albert Dionne   Orange City   Orlando East
Brian Douthett   Bradenton   Bradenton Center
Clinton Edwards   Boynton Bch   Jupiter
John Ehlert   Sunny Hills   Montgomery
Frank Fanelli   Davie   Hollywood
George Fasthoff   Panacea   Tallahassee Center
Laine Frye   Jupiter   Stuart
Lazaro Garcia   Miami   Hialeah
William Gay   Tallahassee   Tallahassee Center
Ron Hawes   Orlando   Orlando Hub
Brian Heath   New Smyrna Beach   Daytona Center
Otis Henry   Deerfield Beach   Deerfield South
John Heyer   Lithia   Orlando Hub
Jeff Hinson   Stuart   Stuart
Michael Homolash   Saint Petersburg   St Pete
Richard Johnson   Lutz   Bayside Center
Kirk Killingsworth   Pembroke Pines   Miami
Ercel Kilpatrick   Ocala   Jupiter
Mark Kralik   Sarasota   Sarasota Center
John Kuczynski   Valrico   Tampa
Christopher Lang   Davie   Ft Lauderdale
Richard Lanier   Middleburg   Jacksonville
Gregory Massicotte   Cantonment   Pensacola Center
Dexter Martin   Rockledge   Cocoa Center
Joseph Marton   New Port Richey   Bayside Center
James Mastrocolo   New Port Richey   Orlando Hub
Joseph Mathey   Punta Gorda   Hialeah
John Matthews   Jacksonville   Jacksonville
Darryl Maynard   Tampa   Bayside Center
Charles McBride   Springhill   Brooksville
Steven McCanna   Debary   Sanford
Jeffrey McNeill   Lake Worth   West Palm Metro
Kevin Melita   Cape Coral   Ft Myers
Russell Mewbuorn   Cape Coral   Ft Myers
Mark Miller   Punta Gorda   Port Charlotte
David Minicus   Cocoa   Cocoa Center
Garry Mook   Niceville   Ft. Walton
Jaime Muniz   Hialeah   Hialeah Metro
Steven Nadekow   Lauderhill   Ft. Lauderdale
Ben Nowlin   Loxahatchee   Jupiter
Douglas Oliver   Debary   Sanford
Stanley Osteen   Lake Butler   Gainesville Center
Anthony Padgett   Green Cove Springs   Jacksonville
Robert Randall Jr   St Augustine   Jacksonville
Kevin Rice   Deland   Daytona Center
Jeff Rinehart   Coral Springs   Deerfield
Thomas Robertson   Miramar   Hialeah
Angel Rodriguez   Miami   Hialeah
Francisco Rodriguez   Miami   Miami
Ricardo Romero   Oakland Park   Ft. Lauderdale
Willie Ruggs   Coconut Creek   Ft Lauderdale
Charles Sawyer   Jacksonville   Jacksonville
Albert Schafenacker   Cooper City   Hialeah
Timothy Schwab   Ormond Beach   Daytona Center
Steve Sherman   Hollywood   Ft. Lauderdale
Michael Sierotowicz   Port St. Lucie   Edison
Michael Smith   Port Orange   Daytona Center
Scott Snyder   Saint Petersburg   Palm Harbor
Daniel Soyer   Longwood   Sanford
John Stockelman   Pembroke Pines   Hollywood
Patrick Szozda   Margate   Deerfield
Alfredo Vargas   Loxhatchee   West Palm Metro
Mario Ventura   Miami   Homestead
Benjamin Vice   Lutz   Bayside Center
Roberto Viera   Miami   Miami
Mark Ward   Fort Walton Beach   Montgomery
Kevin Westcott   Brooksville   Bayside Center
Price Whitlock   Fort Lauderdale   Ft Lauderdale
Elise Williams   Ocala   Ocala Center
Jason Williamson   Ft Pierce   Ft Pierce
Paul Woods   Tallahassee   Tallahassee Center
Michael Wuelfrath   Sarasota   Sarasota Center


Dan McMackin, 404-828-7123


Dan McMackin, 404-828-7123