PCI-SIG Announces New Board of Directors and Officers for 2007-2008

BEAVERTON, Ore.--()--PCI-SIG®, the Special Interest Group responsible for PCI Express® industry-standard I/O technology, today announced the addition of two new companies to the 2007-2008 board of directors. Sun Microsystems and Agilent Technologies join AMD, Broadcom, HP, IBM, Intel, Microsoft and NVIDIA to advance the PCI-SIG mission in 2007 and 2008.

Since 1992, PCI-SIG has worked to enable several evolving PCI technologies, including the Conventional PCI, PCI-X and PCI Express (PCIe®) architectures, as well as I/O Virtualization. Each year, the group hosts an election to renew the leadership positions at the helm of PCI-SIG. The recent additions come as a result of these annual board elections held in May 2007.

PCI-SIG followed the January 2007 release of PCIe 2.0 by continuing work on I/O Virtualization and launching new investigations into enhancements to PCIe architecture to meet the needs of new and emerging applications -- extending the broad adoption of this architecture into 2010 and beyond. With 18 percent growth in membership during the last 12 months, PCI-SIG membership is now near its all-time high with an ever expanding relevance and technology adoption in numerous computing and communications applications. With these and other architectural enhancements, the organization is poised for many successful years ahead.

To serve our growing membership, we welcome both new companies and the broad industry experience they bring to the PCI-SIG board of directors, said Al Yanes, chairman of PCI-SIG. Our board of directors represents more than 900 member companies leading technology innovation worldwide, and our current development efforts will give these companies an industry standard I/O to support roadmaps beyond 2010.

               2007-2008 Board of Directors and Officers

-- Chairman and President: Al Yanes, IBM    -- Rick Eads, Agilent
-- Vice President: Julian Hammersley, AMD   -- Michael Krause, HP
-- Secretary: William Wu, Broadcom          -- Tony Pierce, Microsoft
-- Treasurer: Ramin Neshati, Intel          -- Michael Diamond, NVIDIA
-- Executive Director: Reen Presnell, VTM   -- Wesley Shao, Sun

In addition, PCI-SIG also announced that Reen Presnell, Vice President of VTM, Inc., was named Executive Director of the organization.

Benefits of PCI-SIG Membership

PCI-SIG members can participate in the review of all PCI specifications before they are released to the industry. If you are interested in becoming a member, please visit the PCI-SIG Web site at www.pcisig.com/membership. PCI-SIG members develop and maintain PCI Express specifications and are actively involved in defining compliance criteria and other technical enabling collateral.

As an additional and extremely valuable benefit of PCI-SIG membership, members are given the right to receive patent licenses from any other member of our organization with necessary claims of patent embodied within our specifications. These licenses may be limited in scope to an implementation of a particular specification, but must be granted to all members on reasonable and non-discriminatory terms.


PCI-SIG is the Special Interest Group that owns and manages PCI specifications as open industry standards. The organization defines and implements new industry standard I/O (Input/Output) specifications as the industrys local I/O needs evolve. The PCI Special Interest Group was formed in 1992 and became a nonprofit corporation, named PCI-SIG, in the year 2000. Currently, more than 900 industry-leading companies are active PCI-SIG members worldwide. PCI-SIGs current directors are employed by the following PCI-SIG member companies: Agilent, AMD, Broadcom, HP, IBM, Intel, Microsoft, NVIDIA and Sun Microsystems. For more information about the PCI-SIG and its membership benefits, please visit the PCI-SIG Web site at http://www.pcisig.com or contact 503-619-0569 (within the United States).

PCI-SIG, PCI Express, PCIe, PCI-X and Conventional PCI are trademarks or registered trademarks of PCI-SIG.

All other trademarks mentioned are the property of their respective owners.


Lisa Sherwin, 503-619-0425


Lisa Sherwin, 503-619-0425