2019 Brick in Architecture Awards Honor Dynamic Design

37 Winners Span the US, Australia and Canada

RESTON, Va.--()--The Brick Industry Association (BIA) has awarded the 2019 Brick in Architecture Awards, celebrating 30 years as the nation’s premier design competition featuring clay brick.

Out of more than 120 entries this year, 37 winners include Best in Class, Gold, Silver and Bronze including projects in Australia and Canada. All winning projects may be viewed in BIA’s Photo Gallery.

“These architects maximize brick’s virtually unlimited aesthetic freedom and its integral role in sustainable design,” said Ray Leonhard, BIA’s President, CEO and CFO.

The 2019 Best in Class winners include:

St. Vincent Mixed-Use Building – Austin, Texas
Architect: Lake|Flato Architects
Manufacturer: Acme Brick Company

Educational – Higher Education
McCord Hall, W.P. Carey School of Business
Arizona State University – Tempe, Arizona
Architect: Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates

Educational – K-12
Bernard Zell Anshe Emet Day School Expansion – Chicago, Illinois
Architect: Wheeler Kearns Architects
Manufacturer: The Belden Brick Company

Paving & Landscaping
Smith Plaza – University of New Mexico – Albuquerque, New Mexico
Architect: McCLAIN+YU Architecture & Design; MRWM Landscape Architects; SurfaceDesign Inc.

Residential – Multifamily
MLK Plaza – Bronx, New York
Architect: Magnusson Architecture & Planning P.C.
Manufacturer: The Belden Brick Company
Manufacturer: Endicott Clay Products Company
Brick Distributor: Belden Tri-State Building Materials

Residential – Single Family
175 West 10th St. House – Chicago, Illinois
Architect: John Ronan Architects
Manufacturer: Sioux City Brick (subsidiary of Glen-Gery)
Brick Distributor: Illinois Brick Company

Additional winners in the Residential-Single Family category include Walnut Estates, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (Gold); Wicker Park Residence, Chicago, Illinois (Silver); and Unhistoric Townhouse, New York, New York (Bronze).

The 2019 judges include Stefanie Greenfield, AIA LEED®, Cambridge Seven; Matthew Z. Leach, AIA, Page; Colby Lewis, AIA, NCARB, CEFPI, LEED® AP, STR Partners, LLC; Duncan Lyons, RIBA, LEED® AP BD+C, Gensler.

BIA’s Awards page includes the full list of winners and a Photo Gallery.

For questions, contact Tricia Mauer: tmauer@bia.org.

Founded in 1934, BIA is the nationally recognized authority on clay brick construction representing the nation’s distributors and manufacturers of clay brick and suppliers of related products. http://www.gobrick.com/ 703-620-0010.


Lorelei Harloe, 703-362-2774
Email: LH@LKHComm.com

Release Summary

The Brick Industry Association (BIA) has awarded the 2019 Brick in Architecture Awards.


Lorelei Harloe, 703-362-2774
Email: LH@LKHComm.com