Announcing Wine Enthusiast’s 2017 Wine Star Award Winners

The leading media authority in wine lifestyle names this year’s luminaries of the wine & spirits industry

NEW YORK--()--The winners of Wine Enthusiast magazine’s 18th annual Wine Star Awards, celebrating individuals and companies that have contributed significantly to the success of the wine and spirits industry, have officially been announced. As the scope of beverage culture and business has evolved, so too has this iconic awards event. Today, the Wine Star Awards honors industry game-changers from all facets and in all categories of the industry, from winemakers CEOs, and mixologists to sommeliers, brewers and marketing directors. These winners are united by their fearless passion for change.

“We’re thrilled to announce these highly esteemed sixteen Wine Star Award winners of 2017,” says Editor & Publisher of Wine Enthusiast, Adam Strum. “Over the last eighteen years, Wine Enthusiast has strived to anticipate what’s next in the world of wine and beyond and these recipients embody that vision. We will be honored to present these winners with the Wine Star trophy in Miami at the new Nobu Eden Roc Hotel.”

And the 2017 Wine Star Award winners are…

Person of the Year – Jim Clerkin, President & CEO, Moët Hennessy North America

Lifetime Achievement – Bob & Roger Trinchero, Chairman Emeritus & Chairman of the Board, Trinchero Family Estates

American Wine Pioneer – Nicolaus “Nicky” Hahn, Founder, Hahn Family Wines

Winemaker of the Year – Christophe Baron, Vigneron, Cayuse Vineyards

Wine Executive of the Year – Roger Nabedian, Senior VP & General Manager Premium Wine Division, E. & J. Gallo Winery

American Winery of the Year – Kendall-Jackson Winery, Santa Rosa, California

European Winery of the Year – Fontanafredda, Piedmont, Italy

New World Winery of the Year – Vasse Felix, Margaret River, Australia

Wine Region of the Year – Southwest France

Importer of the Year – Vintus Wines

Retailer of the Year – Safeway, Inc.

Innovator of the Year – Bruce Hunter, Managing Director, Shaw-Ross International Importers

Sommelier/ Wine Director of the Year – Chris Tanghe, MS, Chief Instructor, Guild of Sommeliers

Spirit Brand of the Year – Del Maguey Single Village Mezcal

Mixologist of the Year – Sother Teague, Co-Owner, Coup & Beverage Director, Amor y Amargo

Brewery of the Year – Founders Brewing Co.

The winners will be honored at the 18th annual Wine Star Awards Dinner in Miami, Florida at Nobu Eden Roc on Monday, January 29th, 2018. To attend or RSVP please contact Jen Cortellini at To read in-depth profiles of the Wine Star Award winners, pick up the Best of Year Issue of Wine Enthusiast magazine hitting newsstands on December 5th, 2017 or online at To join the social conversation follow @WineEnthusiast on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook with the hashtag #WineStar.

About Wine Enthusiast Magazine

Wine Enthusiast’s approach to wine and spirits is accessible and unpretentious, and enjoyed by novices and experts alike. Published 13 times per year, the magazine’s audience is at nearly one million strong. The magazine and its Buying Guide with more than 200,000 ratings and reviews make up the most comprehensive database in the industry available for free online at


Wine Enthusiast Magazine
Jacqueline Strum, 914-345-9463 x4606

Release Summary

The winners of Wine Enthusiast magazine’s 18th annual Wine Star Awards have officially been announced.


Wine Enthusiast Magazine
Jacqueline Strum, 914-345-9463 x4606