Submissions Now Open for 20th Annual D.I.C.E. Awards

Video Game Industry Celebrates 20 Years of Leading Peer-Based Awards Show

LOS ANGELES--()--The Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences (AIAS), the video game industry’s professional trade organization representing over 30,000 development and creative members, has opened submissions for its 20th annual D.I.C.E. Awards (#DICEAwards). The D.I.C.E. Awards (Design, Innovate, Communicate, Entertain) serve to recognize excellence and quality among peers currently working in games. The award ceremony will take place on the close of the three-day D.I.C.E. Summit, on the evening of Thursday, February 23, 2017 at the Mandalay Bay Convention Center in Las Vegas.

20th Anniversary

Videogames have distinguished themselves as the dominant entertainment medium with gamers all over the globe across all demographics turning to PCs, consoles, mobile devices and now VR/AR hardware to experience the next level of immersive interaction and storytelling.

This year marks the 20th Anniversary of the D.I.C.E. Awards and the Academy’s continued mission to recognize the best in interactive entertainment and the many talented individuals that continue to define the art form.

“In this industry, 20 years is a massive milestone. Thus it’s truly exciting to see the Academy celebrating its 20th anniversary,” said Ted Price, AIAS Board Member and President/Co-Founder of Insomniac Games. “Videogames have evolved nonstop for the last two decades and each year brings new surprises. This year in particular with the introduction of the Immersive Reality awards I think we’re seeing games and the Academy taking another big step into the future.”

The Awards Show

Mobile Game of the Year, Adventure Game of the Year and Outstanding Achievement in Game Direction are just some of the 25 awards up for grabs this year, recognizing every facet of excellence possible in video games. The evening culminates with the Academy’s top honor, Game of the Year (GOTY). This award celebrates a single title that stands above every other game released with the strength of its craft, depth and innovation. Previous Game of the Year winners include: Fallout 4 (2016), Dragon Age: Inquisition (2015), and The Last of Us (2014).

Reflecting the new technology platforms and innovations that have emerged the past couple of years through virtual reality and augmented reality, the AIAS Board of Directors has approved two new Awards categories to address this category:

  • Immersive Reality Game of the Year: The single game released on an immersive reality platform that best utilizes the attributes of the platform to entertain users. Elements of design, direction and narrative are factored into the title selection. Titles of all genres are eligible if commercially available on a publicly released platform.
  • Immersive Reality Technical Achievement Award: This award celebrates the highest level of technical achievement within an immersive reality experience through the combined attention to gameplay engineering and visual engineering. Elements honored include but are not limited to technology features specifically associated with the immersive medium, artificial intelligence, physics, engine mechanics, and visual rendering.

To be eligible for submission, a game must have been released to the public between January 1st and Dec. 31st, 2016. Deadline for submission to the Academy is December 1st at 5 PM PST. For the complete list of categories and to download a submission packet, visit

For information about the Summit or to purchase tickets to the Awards show, please visit


Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences
Debby Chen, 310-484-2556

Release Summary

The 2017 D.I.C.E. Awards, the preeminent video games Awards show, is now taking submissions for the best games from 2016. Submit your game now!


Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences
Debby Chen, 310-484-2556