ACC National Capital Region Names Finalists for 2016 Corporate Counsel Awards

— Winners to be announced at October 26th awards gala —

WASHINGTON--()--ACC National Capital Region today announced the finalists for its 2016 Corporate Counsel Awards. The awards honor the work of the region’s leading in-house practitioners over the past year in the following categories -- Outstanding Chief Legal Officer, Outstanding In-House Counsel, Outstanding Paraprofessional, Outstanding Law Department, and Community Service. ACC National Capital Region will announce the winners during its Corporate Counsel Awards Reception at The Ritz-Carlton Tysons Corner in McLean, Va., on Wednesday, October 26, 2016.

The finalists for the 2016 Corporate Counsel Awards are:

Outstanding Chief Legal Officer:



• Kristin Campbell, Executive Vice President and General Counsel, Hilton Worldwide


• Mark Dorfman, Executive Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary, DRS Technologies, Inc.


• Eric Reicin, Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary, MorganFranklin, Inc. and MorganFranklin Consulting, LLC


• Donald Saelinger, General Counsel, Chief Compliance Officer and Corporate Secretary, Opower, Inc.


• Jim Winner, Chief Legal Officer, General Counsel, and Secretary, GardaWorld Federal Services


Outstanding In-House Counsel:


• Michael Abejuela, Associate General Counsel, American Registry for Internet Numbers, Ltd. (ARIN)


• David Kessler, Group Counsel, Intel Security Public Sector LLC


• Ilona Korzha, Counsel, Sprint Corporation


• Mark Learn, Assistant General Counsel, Altria Client Services LLC


• Sharis Pozen, Vice President, Global Competition and Antitrust, General Electric


Outstanding Paraprofessional:


• Katie Greenwell, Senior Paralegal – Dispute Resolution, Hilton Worldwide


• Sharon Williams, Director – Public Sector Contracts Administration, CA Technologies


Outstanding Law Department:


• Altria Group, Inc.


• Constellis


• Hewlett Packard Enterprise – U.S. Public Sector


• Marriott International, Inc.


• WeddingWire, Inc.

Community Service Award:


• Leslie Thornton, Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary, WGL Holdings, Inc., and Washington Gas


• Hilton Worldwide (legal department)


• Washington Gas (legal department)

"The achievements and contributions of these finalists are illustrative of the integral role the in-house legal team plays in the success of an organization,” said Simone Wu, co-chair of the Corporate Counsel Awards, and senior vice president, general counsel, secretary and chief compliance officer, Choice Hotels International, Inc.

"With the Corporate Counsel Awards, ACC National Capital Region is pleased to bring attention to the important work done by so many talented individuals and legal departments in our region," said Mary Jane Saunders, co-chair of the Corporate Counsel Awards, and vice president, general counsel, and corporate secretary, the Beer Institute.

The finalists were selected from nominations submitted in response to an open call for nominations. The panel of judges for the Corporate Counsel Awards is comprised of the following leaders in the business and legal communities in this region:



Mike Daniels, Chairman of the Board, LMI

Steven A. Museles, General Counsel and Head of Client Relations, Alliance Partners

Veta T. Richardson, President and CEO, Association of Corporate Counsel

Michael W. Robinson, President, Virginia State Bar, and Partner, Venable LLP

Mary Jane Saunders, Member of the Board of Directors of ACC National Capital Region, Co-Chair of the Corporate Counsel Awards, and Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary, Beer Institute, Inc.

Annamaria Steward, President, D.C. Bar, and Associate Dean of Students, University of the District of Columbia David A. Clarke School of Law

Harry C. Storm, President, Maryland State Bar Association, and Associate Judge, Circuit Court for Montgomery County, Maryland

Luise Welby, President of ACC National Capital Region, and Senior Associate General Counsel, Freddie Mac

Simone Wu, Member of the Board of Directors of ACC National Capital Region, Co-Chair of the Corporate Counsel Awards, and Senior Vice President, General Counsel, Secretary and Chief Compliance Officer, Choice Hotels International, Inc.

Created in 2005, the Corporate Counsel Awards have become a well-recognized and sought-after honor for members of the in-house legal community in the District of Columbia, Commonwealth of Virginia and suburban Maryland. For a list of all previous Award winners, please visit Registration for the Awards Reception will open shortly.

About ACC National Capital Region

With more than 2,400 members, ACC National Capital Region serves the professional needs of in-house counsel in Washington, D.C., Virginia, and suburban Maryland. It is the regional chapter of the global Association of Corporate Counsel (ACC). ACC National Capital Region members participate in more than 90 professional development programs each year and keep connected through a variety of networking events and communications vehicles. The organization has been active in regulatory issues that affect the in-house bar, and in providing education to encourage advancements in the standards of corporate legal practice. The organization was first established in 1980 as the Washington Metropolitan Area Corporate Counsel Association (WMACCA), and adopted the name ACC National Capital Region last year to better communicate the area it serves and support the ACC global brand. More information about ACC National Capital Region is available on its Web site:


ACC National Capital Region
Ilene G. Reid
Executive Director


ACC National Capital Region
Ilene G. Reid
Executive Director