2017 Arizona Legislature Vote TechSmart Endorsements Now Available from Arizona Technology Council

The Council endorses candidates that will serve in the 2017 Arizona State Legislature and help advance a pro technology industry agenda

PHOENIX--()--Providing its members a comprehensive review of Arizona legislative candidates’ positions on the key issues affecting the technology industry, the Arizona Technology Council today released its 2016 Vote TechSmart endorsements. The endorsement of candidates for the state Senate and House of Representatives are based on the recent voting records of incumbents, a written survey and almost 60 interviews.

“We have put together these recommendations to help our members make their choices among candidates who are seeking office in the Arizona Legislature,” said Steven G. Zylstra, president and CEO of the Arizona Technology Council. “Casting a vote in the upcoming election is critical to protecting and advancing Arizona as a top-tier technology state. It is crucial that we come together as one voice to elect candidates who have a strong and supportive view of the industry and understand the role technology plays in Arizona’s economy.”

A candidate’s understanding a range of issues important to the technology industry and the position he or she took on them were significant in determining the Council’s support. The issues include how to expand access to investment capital, tax code support of research and development (R&D) investments, technology-based economic development, support for technology infrastructure, and a strong commitment to a technology-based education system from kindergarten through postsecondary.

The Council chose to focus its endorsements on candidates who are running for the Legislature in Arizona’s 2016 election and is not making recommendations on other statewide races or races for U.S. Congress.

The Arizona Technology Council’s legislative candidate endorsements are:

Arizona State Senate:

District 1: Karen Fann (R)
District 2: Andrea Dalessandro (D)
District 3: Oliva Cajero Bedford (D)
District 4: Lisa Otondo (D)
District 5: Sonny Borrelli (R)
District 6: None
District 7: None
District 8: Barbara McGuire (D), Frank Pratt (R)
District 9: Steve Farley (D)
District 10: David Bradley (D)
District 11: Steve Smith (R)
District 12: Warren Petersen (R)
District 13: Diane Landis (R)
District 14: None
District 15: None
District 16: David Farnsworth (R)
District 17: Steve Yarbrough (R)
District 18: Jeff Dial (R)
District 19: Guadalupe Contreras (D)
District 20: Kimberley Yee (R)
District 21: None
District 22: None
District 23: John Kavanagh (R)
District 24: Katie Hobbs (D)
District 25: Bob Worsley (R)
District 26: David Lucier (D)
District 27: Catherine Miranda (D)
District 28: Kate Brophy McGee (R), Eric Meyer (D)
District 29: Martin Quezada (D)
District 30: Robert Meza (D)

Arizona House of Representatives:

District 1: Noel Campbell (R)

District 2: J. Chris Ackerley (R), Rosanna Gabaldón (D)

District 3: Macario Saldate (D)
District 4: Charlene Fernandez (D)
District 5: Regina Cobb (R), Sam Medrano (R)
District 6: Bob Thorpe (R)
District 7: None
District 8: David Cook (R), TJ Shope (R)
District 9: Randall Friese (D), Matt Kopec (D)
District 10: Stefanie Mach (D), Todd Clodfelter (R), Courtney Frogge (D)
District 11: None
District 12: LaCinda Lewis (R)
District 13: Darin Mitchell (R), Don Shooter (R)
District 14: Drew John (R), Anthony Sizer (R)
District 15: Heather Carter (R)
District 16: Douglas Coleman (R)
District 17: Jeff Weninger (R), JD Mesnard (R)
District 18: Jill Norgaard (R), Bob Robson (R)
District 19: Mark Cardenas (D), Diego Espinoza (D)
District 20: Paul Boyer (R), Anthony Kern (R)
District 21: Kevin Payne (R)
District 22: David Livingston (R), Phil Lovas (R)
District 23: Jay Lawrence (R)
District 24: Lela Alston (D), Ken Clark (D)
District 25: None
District 26: Michael Martinez (D), Celeste Plumlee (D)
District 27: Reginald Bolding (D), Rebecca Rios (D)
District 28: Kelli Butler (D), Mary Hamway (R), Matt Morales (R)
District 29: Richard Andrade (D)
District 30: Jonathan Larkin (D), Ray Martinez (D)

About the Arizona Technology Council

The Arizona Technology Council is Arizona’s premier trade association for science and technology companies. Recognized as having a diverse professional business community, Council members work towards furthering the advancement of technology in Arizona through leadership, education, legislation and social action. The Arizona Technology Council offers numerous events, educational forums and business conferences that bring together leaders, managers, employees and visionaries to make an impact on the technology industry. These interactions contribute to the Council’s culture of growing member businesses and transforming technology in Arizona. To become a member or to learn more about the Arizona Technology Council, please visit www.aztechcouncil.org.


Media contact:
Linda Capcara, 480-229-7090
Organization contact:
Arizona Technology Council
Steven G. Zylstra, 480-353-9277


Media contact:
Linda Capcara, 480-229-7090
Organization contact:
Arizona Technology Council
Steven G. Zylstra, 480-353-9277