Women in Technology Announces Finalists for 17th Annual Leadership Awards

Professional Women in the Washington, D.C. Technology Community Recognized for their Extraordinary Vision, Talent and Mentorship

FALLS CHURCH, Va.--()--Women in Technology (WIT), the premier organization contributing to the success of professional women in the Washington, D.C.-area technology community, today announced the finalists for the 17th Annual Leadership Awards. This annual awards program identifies, recognizes and celebrates female professionals who are leaders in the technology field and who bring a unique vision and talent to the industry.

The finalists for the 17th Annual Women in Technology Leadership Awards are:

Corporate Large Market Sector

  • Mary S. Craft – Leidos, Inc.
  • Jo A. Decker —General Dynamics Information Technology
  • Stacey Halota —Graham Holdings (formerly The Washington Post Company)
  • Kay Kapoor – AT&T Global Business – Public Sector Solutions
  • Lynn Martin - VMware Public Sector

Corporate Mid-Market Sector

  • Anne Aakre – Evolver, Inc.
  • Sonya Jain – eGlobalTech
  • Tiffany Jones – iSIGHT Partners
  • Sheryl Lemma - Ellucian

Corporate – Small Market Sector

  • Rebecca Andino – Highlight Technologies, LLC
  • Mary-Claire Burick – Rosslyn Business Improvement District
  • Carolyn Parent - LiveSafe
  • Alisa Valudes Whyte – Merritt Group


  • Sonia Kendall – United States Coast Guard
  • Stephanie O’Sullivan – Office of the Director of National Intelligence
  • Sophia Paros – Defense Information Service Agency
  • Linda F. Powell – Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
  • Margaret R. Staubs – United States Coast Guard C4IT Service Center

Rising Star

  • Ashley Baber – Cvent
  • Kaylyn Gibilterra - Capital One
  • Kylie Johnson – Blackboard Inc.
  • Maria Sasinowski – Microsoft
  • Camille A. Stewart, Esq. – Department of Homeland Security

Small Business / Entrepreneur

  • Susan M Evans – Evans Incorporated
  • Crystal Icenhour, PhD – Aperiomics
  • Dr. Arti Patel Varanasi – Advancing Synergy
  • Lisa Wolford – Constellation West
  • Amy Wright – Macro Solutions

Technical Excellence

  • Sara Abiusi – Accenture Federal Services
  • Suzanne Campbell – Vmware Public Sector
  • Annelise Dubrovsky – Appian
  • Kimberly C. Smith – Integrity Applications Incorporated
  • Cathy Tilton - CSRA

Unsung Hero

  • Margaret Archer – Excella Consulting
  • Jenny Oh – Booz Allen
  • Nancy Powell – Dovel Technologies
  • Michelle Richards – AT&T
  • Lisa White – Freddie Mac

Women in Defense

  • Commander Amy Grable – Coast Guard Telecommunications and Information Systems Command
  • Erin M. Thorpe – U.S. Coast Guard C3CEN Portsmouth
  • Diane E. Webber, RADM, US Navy (Ret) – National Defense University

“These WIT Leadership Award finalists represent some of the most accomplished women in the technology industry,” said Lisa Dezzutti, President of WIT. “These women have innovated in small and large ways to guide their organizations toward success. They also prove to us that there are endless opportunities and many paths to achieving success in the technology industry. We cannot wait to celebrate their accomplishments together at the WIT Leadership Awards celebration in May.”

WIT will announce the winners at the Leadership Awards Banquet on May 19, 2016, at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Reston, Va.

For more information about sponsorship packages and to purchase tables or individual tickets, please visit www.womenintechnology.org and follow us on Twitter: @WITWomen, #WITLA16.

About Women in Technology

Women in Technology (WIT) is a not-for-profit organization with the mission of advancing women in technology—from the classroom to the boardroom—by providing advocacy, leadership development, networking, mentoring and technology education. With nearly 1000 members in the Washington, D.C. area, WIT strives to meet its vision of being the premier organization empowering women to be architects of change in the technology industry. For more information, please visit http://www.womenintechnology.org/ or connect with us via: FacebookLinkedIn or Twitter (@WITWomen).


for Women in Technology (WIT)
Cara LaMaina
direct 703-533-4858


for Women in Technology (WIT)
Cara LaMaina
direct 703-533-4858