10 Professors Receive $25,000 Prestigious Award

ATLANTA--()--On Saturday, November 14, ten distinguished professors from around the U.S. will be honored with a $25,000 cash tribute from the Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award Trust for motivating a former student to make a difference in his or her community. The ceremony will take place at the Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead at 5 p.m.

The Beckman Award Trust was originated in 2008 and has since bestowed an amount of over $1.7 million to 73 professors and faculty. The idea for the Beckman Trust was conceived by Gail McKnight Beckman in recognition of her mother Dr. Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman.

“A professor who can motivate a student to change the world is one of the most valuable resources we have in America. It is an honor for the Beckman Trust Award committee to pay tribute to ten more exceptional mentors this year”, said Dr. Andrew Davidson, Beckman Award Trust committee member.

Dr. Beckman was a notable instructor and an esteemed author. She made history in her field for being one of the first female psychology professors at Columbia University. Dr. Beckman also later taught at the University of Pennsylvania. The full list of 2015 recipients is featured below.

2015 Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award Recipients


University or Current Affiliation

David M. Becker, J.D.      

Washington University School of Law


St. Louis, MO

Dawn D. Bennett-Alexander, J.D.      

University of Georgia


Athens, GA

Melisa Cahnmann-Taylor, Ph.D.      

University of Georgia


Athens, GA

Michael Joseph Chorney, Ph.D.      

Penn State College of Medicine


Hershey, PA

Daniel Wallace Close, Ph.D.      

University of Oregon


Eugene, OR

Marie Anita Failinger, LLM      

Hamline University School of Law


St. Paul, MN

Ralph David Fertig, ABD for Ph.D.      

University of Southern California


Los Angeles, CA

Elizabeth Gerber, Ph.D.      

Northwestern University


Evanston, IL

K. Daniel O’Leary, Ph.D.      

Stony Brook University


Stony Brook, NY

Florence Wagman Roisman, LL.B.      

Indiana University Robert H. McKinney

School of Law


Indianapolis, IN

In order to qualify for the award, nominees must be former or current professors or instructors at a college, university, junior college, community college, or technical school in the U.S. and teachers in the fields of law, medicine, or psychology are recommended.

The Beckman Award Trust Committee is comprised of Dr. Andrew Davidson of Columbia University, Dr. Ruth Lineborg of Bryn Mawr College, Dr. Nadine Kaslow of the American Psychological Association, and Phyllis Silverstein of Wells Fargo Bank, N.A.

The Beckman Trust is aided by the Wells Fargo’s Philanthropic Services Group. To learn more, visit www.wellsfargo.com/privatefoundations/beckman.


For The Beckman Award Trust
Paula Hovater, 770-998-1106
Mobile: 404-625-2882


For The Beckman Award Trust
Paula Hovater, 770-998-1106
Mobile: 404-625-2882