San Diego Region Celebrates 25 Years of “Salute to Teachers”

Tickets on Sale Today for Oct. 10 Gala Event

From left, Maria Teran-Cruz, Sara Matthews, John Berray, Khamphet Pease, and Mary Goins were named San Diego County's Teachers of the Year in 2014 during "Cox Presents: A Salute to Teachers." The show celebrates its 25th anniversary on Oct. 10, 2015. Photo by Paul Body.

SAN DIEGO--()--Teachers from across the region will be honored for their commitment to teaching and learning at this year’s “Cox Presents: A Salute to Teachers.” The Academy Awards-style extravaganza is celebrating its 25th anniversary of recognizing local teachers. The show will highlight the County’s 26,000 public school teachers and feature celebrity emcees and presenters, musical and dance performances, and the announcement of the 2015-16 San Diego County Teachers of the Year who will go on to represent the region at the California Teacher of the Year program later this year.

Tickets are on sale now for “Cox Presents: A Salute to Teachers” brought to you by San Diego County Credit Union. The LIVE show begins at 8 p.m. on Saturday, Oct. 10 at the Balboa Theater. Tickets are $15 ($17.50 with fees), or $14 ($16.50 with fees) for groups of 10 or more. Tickets can be purchased online at, by calling the Balboa Theatre box office at 570-1100 (all San Diego area codes), or at the Balboa Theatre box office located at 868 4th Ave. in downtown San Diego. A 10% discount is available by mentioning title sponsor San Diego County Credit Union. For more information about the show, visit

The 44 nominees for Teacher of the Year (nominee listing below) were selected by their respective school districts. Of those, five will be named County Teacher of the Year. The top five teachers are selected based on student achievement, professional development and community involvement, teaching philosophy and personal style, knowledge of educational issues and trends, promotion and development of the teaching profession, accountability and ability to serve as ambassadors of education.

The live gala event is brought to you by San Diego County Credit Union and produced by Cox Communications in cooperation with the San Diego County Office of Education. The show will also air live on Channel 4 San Diego.

Additional show sponsors include Sea World, Nothing Bundt Cakes, KUSI, Qualcomm, Procopio, CBRE, Sycuan Band of the Kumeyaay Nation, USS Midway, SDG&E, INSP Network, San Diego Union-Tribune, and Valley View Casino Center.


2015-16 San Diego County Teacher of the Year Nominees

Alpine Union Darlene Newcomb Shadow Hills Elementary
Bonsall Unified Denise Barker Bonsall Elementary
Borrego Springs Unified Rachel Wann Borrego Springs High
Cajon Valley Union Janet Feilen Sevick
Carlsbad Unified Doug Green Carlsbad High
Del Mar Union Audrey Schengel Sycamore Ridge
Encinitas Union Scharonne Jones Capri Elementary
Escondido Union (2) Vanessa Miramontes-Solorzano Mission Middle
Shannon Wrzeski Central Elementary
Escondido Union High Renee Sherry-Farrell Del Lago Academy
Grossmont Union High (2) Andrea Cooke El Capitan High
Matt Norris West Hills High
Lakeside Union David Tupper Tierra del Sol Middle
La Mesa-Spring Valley Laura Autio Lemon Avenue Elementary
Lemon Grove Dan Decker San Miguel Elementary
Mountain Empire Unified Elizabeth Sjoquist Campo Elementary
National Katie Crosbie Ira Harbison Elementary
Oceanside Unified (2) Lisa Boyster King Middle
Tiffany Ortega Del Rio Elementary
Poway Unified (3) Dena Glynn Tierra Bonita Elementary
Courtney Jennings Shoal Creek Elementary
Paul Messerle Rancho Bernardo High
Ramona Unified Michael Zehm Ramona Elementary
San Diego County

Charter School Association

Jeffrey Newman e3 Civic High
San Diego County Office of Education Jeffra Becknell Monarch
San Diego Unified (5) Mary Lou Baranowski-Drews Lindbergh Schweitzer Elementary
Ronald Lancia Mission Bay High
Shirley Miranda Morse High
Brenda Mueller De Portola Middle
Michelle Yepiz Zamorano Elementary
San Dieguito Union High Debra Cruse Earl Warren Middle
San Marcos Unified Jennifer Jackson Richland Elementary
San Pasqual Union Joshua Perez San Pasqual Union
San Ysidro Cynthia Arredondo-Quintanar Willow Elementary
Santee Stacy Roberts Cajon Park
Solana Beach Katie Zimmer Carmel Creek
South Bay Union Annalicia Guido Nestor Language Academy Charter
Sweetwater Union High (5) Laurie Baker-Worthington Hilltop Middle
Blakeslee Detisch Montgomery Middle
Diane Ince Castle Park Middle
Armando Leon Mar Vista Academy
Gale Marshburn San Ysidro High
Valley Center-Pauma Unified Satya Fleck Valley Center High
Vista Unified Michael Pink Vista High


Cox Communications
Ceanne Guerra
San Diego County Office of Education
Lisa Contreras


Cox Communications
Ceanne Guerra
San Diego County Office of Education
Lisa Contreras