Winners Announced for 2015 Innovator Awards

Prestigious awards presented in live ceremony at the conclusion of the PYMNTS Innovation Project 2015

2015 Innovation Project

BOSTON--(), the premier source of news and commentary on innovation in payments and commerce is pleased to honor the recipients of the 2015 PYMNTS Innovator Awards that were announced during a live Ceremony and Awards dinner to celebrate the conclusion of The Innovation Project 2015, a two-day thought leadership event for payments executives.

The PYMNTS Innovator Awards are viewed as the most prestigious recognition in the payments industry and boast a submission, selection and voting process that is unmatched in intellectual rigor and competitive energy. This year that standard was set even higher. More than 600 nomination submissions and 10,000 votes were tallied to select the PYMNTS Innovator Awards recipients that were recognized with Gold, Silver and Bronze awards across 16 categories including Most Innovative, Most Disruptive and Best Technology.

During the ceremony, two new members were inducted into the Payments Hall Of Fame: Phil Tomlinson, the CEO of Total System Services (TSYS), and Michael Joseph, the director of Mobile Money for Vodafone and the “father” of M-Pesa. The pair were honored for establishing the foundation of the payments industry and helping to make it possible for new innovators to pursue what’s next in payments.

Representatives from Apple were on hand to receive the prestigious Catalyst Award, which recognizes innovators that live up to the true spirit of innovation, which Apple has done through the introduction of Apple Pay.

The event also recognized the talents of two outstanding women in the payments industry. The Women To Watch award was given to Carey Kolaja, VP Of Global Consumer Products for PayPal. Perse Faily, CEO of Tillster was awarded the Women Driving Innovation in Payments Award.

In an effort to honor the entrepreneurial and leadership spirit of the late Chase Paymentech executive Mike Duffy, who passed away in 2013 shortly before the first Innovation Project, The Michael P. Duffy Leadership Award was given to Henry Helgeson, the CEO of Cayan, a leading provider of payment technologies.

For more information about the awards dinner and to see a full list of the PYMNTS Innovation Awards winners please visit

About is reinventing the way in which companies in payments share relevant information about the initiatives that shape the future of payments and commerce and make news. This powerful B2B platform is the #1 site for the payments and broader commerce ecosystem by traffic and the premier source of information about “what’s next” in payments. C-suite and VP level executives turn to it daily for these insights, making the audience the most valuable in the industry. It provides an interactive platform for companies to demonstrate thought leadership, popularize products and, most importantly, capture the mindshare of global decision-makers., where the best minds and best content meet on the web to learn “What’s Next” in Payments and Commerce.

About the Innovation Project
Over two content -packed days, The Innovation Project 2015, powered by, convenes the most thoughtful minds from established players, emerging disruptors, and entrepreneurial visionaries in the world of payments and commerce on the campus of Harvard University. This year’s theme - Innovation At The Intersections –explored the many forces outside of payments that are reinventing and reshaping how payments and commerce evolve.

*Please note that The Innovation Project™ and℠ are not affiliated with Harvard University, nor is the Innovation Project™ 2015 a Harvard University program or activity.


Contact For
Brooke Hawkins, 617-374-4700

Release Summary

Winners including Apple announced for 2015 Innovator Awards Prestigious awards presented in live ceremony at the conclusion of the PYMNTS Innovation Project 2015


Contact For
Brooke Hawkins, 617-374-4700