Comcast Awards 55 Colorado High School Seniors Leaders and Achievers® Scholarships

  • Two students from Thornton, Denver to receive $10,000 scholarships
  • 53 students statewide to receive $1,000 scholarships

DENVER--()--The Comcast Foundation today announced the 2014-15 recipients of its annual Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship Program awards.

“Each year, Comcast proudly recognizes and rewards talented young leaders across our state who demonstrate commitment not only to their own academic achievements and future plans, but also to the well-being and future success of others in their community,” said Rich Jennings, Senior Vice President of Comcast’s Mile High Region. “These outstanding students set a powerful example for us all, and Comcast is pleased to award scholarships that honor and encourage their accomplishments.”

The Comcast Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship Program provides $1,000 scholarships to students who strive to achieve their potential, who are catalysts for positive change in their communities, who are involved in their schools, and who serve as models for their fellow students. The philosophy behind the program is to give young people every opportunity to prepare for the future and to engage them in their communities. The program also demonstrates the importance of civic involvement, and the value placed on civic involvement by the business community.

This year, a total of $73,000 in scholarship funding will be awarded to 55 Colorado students, with 53 students receiving $1,000 each, and two – Amelia Atencio of Mapleton Expeditionary School of the Arts (MESA) in Thornton and Dawit Gebresellassie of George Washington High School in Denver - each receiving $10,000.

To date, Comcast has awarded more than $21.6 million to nearly 21,000 Leaders and Achievers Scholarship winners across the country, with a total of $740,000 awarded to more than 600 Colorado students. A full list of this year’s Colorado recipients appears on the next pages.

Connect with the scholarship winners at Explore and “like” Comcast in the community at

The Comcast Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship Program is one of the many ways that Comcast gives back to the communities we serve. Click here to learn more.

About the Comcast Foundation

The Comcast Foundation was founded by Comcast Corporation in June 1999 to provide charitable support to qualified nonprofit organizations. The Foundation primarily invests in programs intended to have a positive, sustainable impact on their communities. The Foundation has three community investment priorities – expanding digital literacy, promoting community service and building tomorrow’s leaders. Since its inception, the Comcast Foundation has donated nearly $140 million to organizations in the communities nationwide that Comcast serves. More information about the Foundation and its programs is available at

The following 55 Colorado students are recipients of the 2014-15 Comcast Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship Program Awards:

$10,000 Scholarship Awards - 2 students

Amelia Atencio - Mapleton Expeditionary School of the Arts (MESA)

Dawit Gebresellassie – George Washington High School

$1,000 Scholarship Awards - 53 students

Jack Sale - Pomona High School

Nathaniel Gibby - Cherokee Trail High School
Michelle Isom - Aurora Central High School
Conor McNamara - Regis Jesuit High School
Andre Rizo - Rangeview High School
Marcus Serrano - William Smith High School
Elizabeth Wiley - Smoky Hill High School

Amelia Spicer - Bennett High School

Zoey Petitt - Berthoud High School

Katie Li - Fairview High School
Kellie Tagawa - Arapahoe Ridge High School
Keegan Velasquez - Boulder High School

Allyson Malecha - Broomfield High School
Alyson Thimsen - Jefferson Academy High School

Colorado Springs
Sophia Danielson - Air Academy High School
Benjamin Hook - The Classical Academy
Kaaila King - Mitchell High School
Nicholas Pasley - Sand Creek High School
Margaret Sheahan – Cheyenne Mountain High School

Jose Bonilla - Global Leadership Academy
Redet Dejene - Thomas Jefferson High School
Raymond Lin - Mullen High School
Daniel Ramirez- North High School
Adan Ramos – Martin Luther King, Jr. Early College
Alejandra Rodriguez-Torres - Florence Crittenton High School
Ariel Sanchez - John F. Kennedy High School
Estefani Vasquez-Gutierrez - Bruce Randolph High School
Connor Vaughn - Bishop Machebeuf High School

Ronald Brook - Battle Mountain High School

Fort Collins
Josephine Natrasevschi - Fort Collins High School
Patrice Quadrel - Rocky Mountain High School

Sabrina Stegman - Fountain Fort Carson High School

Tessa Gunnin - Summit High School

Avery Hitchcock - University Schools
Akia Puga - Northridge High School

Highlands Ranch
Samantha Kerr - Highlands Ranch High School
Kianna Nguyen- ThunderRidge High School

Irle Hernandez – Centaurus High School

Jennifer Edwards - Green Mountain High School
Joshua Figueroa - Alameda High School

Rebecca Bretz - Heritage High School
Patrick Fontana - Columbine High School

Guadalupe Crespo - Skyline High School

Sara Smith - Thompson Valley High School

Olivia Fowler - Lewis-Palmer High School

Diana Kozlova - Vantage Point High School

Kelsey Laughlin - East High School
Caleb Miller - Centennial High School

Tajanay Woolfolk - Mapleton Early College

Nicholas Ruybalid - Trinidad High School

Erica Charles - Vail Mountain School

Wheat Ridge
Joseph Wirth - Wheat Ridge High School

Taryn Melendez- Windsor High School


Mary Spillane, 720-641-2264
Community Investment Manager

Release Summary

The Comcast Foundation today announced the 2014-15 recipients of its annual Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship Program awards.


Mary Spillane, 720-641-2264
Community Investment Manager