NCQA Honors Health Quality Leaders




On April 2, the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) will present its 2014 Health Quality Awards to leaders and innovators who drive health care improvement.



NCQA is recognizing these leaders for improving health care quality by making it more effective, efficient and compassionate; by advancing appropriate public policy; and by conducting research around health care quality issues.


NCQA’s 2014 Health Quality Award honorees are:

-- Don Berwick, MD, MPP — The founder of the Institute of Healthcare Improvement and the former administrator for the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Dr. Berwick is being honored as one of health care quality’s founding fathers and for his decades of leadership in the field.

-- Carolyn Clancy, MD — As Assistant Deputy Undersecretary for Health for Quality, Safety and Value at the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, and the former director of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Dr. Clancy is being honored for advancing patient safety and health information technology, and for focusing government research on quality improvement.

-- Ezekiel Emanuel, MD, PhD — A fellow at the Center for American Progress and the Diane v. S. and Robert M. Levy University Professor at the University of Pennsylvania, Dr. Emanuel is being honored for his leadership as a bioethicist and architect of national health care policy.

-- Sandy Praeger — Kansas’ 24th Insurance Commissioner and the former president of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners, Ms. Praeger is being honored for her decades of elected service working across party lines to improve health care quality.

-- Peter Lee — The executive director of Covered California and former Deputy Director for the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Innovation at the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, Mr. Lee is being honored for his work as an administrator and consumer activist improving Americans’ access to quality care.



Wednesday, April 2, 2014

Press Interviews of Honorees 6:30 – 7:15 pm



National Building Museum
440 G Street, NW
Washington, DC 20001


To RSVP, please contact Apoorva Stull at or Ashley Carter at by April 1.



NCQA is a private, non-profit organization dedicated to improving health care quality. NCQA accredits and certifies a wide range of health care organizations. It also recognizes clinicians and practices in key areas of performance. NCQA’s Healthcare Effectiveness Data and Information Set (HEDIS®) is the most widely used performance measurement tool in health care. NCQA’s Web site ( contains information to help consumers, employers and others make more informed health care choices.


Apoorva Stull, 202-955-3567

Release Summary

NCQA will present its 2014 Health Quality Awards to Don Berwick, Carolyn Clancy, Ezekiel Emanuel, Sandy Praeger and Peter Lee on April 2. Dr. Marck Smith will host the evening's program.


Apoorva Stull, 202-955-3567