Gov. Ed Rendell, Hershey Company, PPL, GlaxoSmithKline, Waste Management, Marywood University, Academy of Natural Sciences, Crayola, Kohl’s, Turkey Hill Dairy, Victory Brewing Lead Recipients of Green Power Awards at Luncheon on October 6

PHILADELPHIA--()--Citizens for Pennsylvania’s Future (PennFuture) will hold its Green Power Awards on Thursday, October 6, 2010 from 12 noon - 2 p.m. at the ACE Conference Center (Lafayette Ballroom) 800 Ridge Pike in Lafayette Hill (Montgomery County). Thirty-eight individuals, private corporations, schools, and public interest organizations that are building Pennsylvania’s thriving renewable energy market will be honored at the luncheon. A similar awards luncheon will be held in Pittsburgh on October 27 at the Fairmont.

Individuals and organizations receiving the awards include:

PPL Electric Utilities (Allentown),

Marywood University (Scranton)

Franklin & Marshall College (Lancaster)

Friends Center Corporation (Philadelphia

Philadelphia Union (Philadelphia)

Masonic Village at Elizabethtown

Spiral Path Farm (Loysville)

Kohl’s (Statewide)

Philadelphia Water Department (Philadelphia)

Victory Brewing Company (Philadelphia)

Solar States/Crane Arts Building (Philadelphia)

Crayola (Easton)

Turkey Hill Diary, Lancaster County Solid Waste Management Authority, and PPL Renewable Energy (Conestoga)

Snyder’s of Hanover

NewAge Industries (Southampton)

East Lycoming School District (Hughesville)

GlaxoSmithKline (York)

Waste Management (Philadelphia)

D&B Laundromat (Palmyra)

Morris Arboretum of the University of Pennsylvania (Philadelphia)

Lindy Property Management (Jenkintown)

Kensington High School for the Creative and Performing Arts (Philadelphia)

Swarthmore Presbyterian Church (Swarthmore)

Philadelphia Gas Works (Philadelphia)

EnergyWorks Fund (Philadelphia)

Caesar Gambone (Norristown)

The Hershey Company (Hershey)

PhillyCarShare (Philadelphia)

Devon Preparatory School (Devon)

David Neiblum (West Chester)

Don Auker (Lebanon)

Academy of Natural Sciences (Philadelphia)

Tom Tuffey (West Chester)

And two special awards:

The Citizens' Choice Green Power Hero Award (based on recommendations by PennFuture's members and supporters) to Michele Sands (Tyler Hill), in recognition of her leadership in the development of the SEEDS (Sustainable Energy Education & Development Support) and

The Rachel Carson Green Leadership Award to Governor Edward G. Rendell (Philadelphia), in recognition of his leadership in championing and establishing Pennsylvania’s clean energy economy.

The awards luncheon is open to the public. For more information or tickets for the Green Power Awards, contact PennFuture at 1-800-321-7775 or online at


Citizens for Pennsylvania's Future
Jeanne K. Clark, 412-258-6683 or 412-736-6092

Release Summary

PennFuture to honor Ed Rendell, PPL, GlaxoSmithKline, Waste Management and others at Green Power Awards on Thurs., 10/6 in SE Pennsylvania


Citizens for Pennsylvania's Future
Jeanne K. Clark, 412-258-6683 or 412-736-6092