Two of the Nation’s Leading Higher Education Experts Join Coalition for Educational Success Board of Advisors

Dr. Sara Lawrence-Lightfoot, Dr. Jonathan Fanton will work with former Governors to create Standards of Responsible Conduct for higher education

WASHINGTON--()--The Coalition for Educational Success has named Dr. Sara Lawrence-Lightfoot, the Emily Hargroves Fisher Professor of Education at Harvard University, and Dr. Jonathan Fanton, former President of both the MacArthur Foundation and the New School for Social Research, to the Coalition’s Board of Advisors.

Dr. Lawrence-Lightfoot and Dr. Fanton will join former Governors Thomas H. Kean (R-NJ) and Edward Rendell (D-PA), along with experts from multiple fields, in the development of the Coalition’s Standards of Responsible Conduct for higher education. The Standards will improve and ensure transparency, disclosure, training, provide strong new protections for students. The Board of Advisors will also develop a mechanism to ensure adherence to the new standards.

“We are thrilled to add Dr. Lightfoot and Dr. Fanton to our Board of Advisors,” said Penny Lee, Managing Director for the Coalition for Educational Success. “They are two of the most thoughtful, sophisticated, innovative thinkers in higher education today. The work they have done across the nation and around the globe gives them perspective and insight that will make a tremendous contribution to our efforts.”

Dr. Fanton added, “All institutions should hold themselves to the highest standards. Every school is different and every student is different. But the underlying goal is the same – give everyone a chance to continue their education and develop the skills they need to find a job and lead a productive life. That’s why the work of this Board is so critical – it gives us a chance to improve the experience for the three million students currently in career colleges and the millions of students who will attend career colleges over the next few years alone.”

“Career colleges are an important option for millions of students who want and need to continue their education. The more we can do to make career colleges accessible and effective, the more students we can help. I am very pleased to be part of this important effort,” said Dr. Lightfoot.

Dr. Sara Lawrence-Lightfoot

Dr. Sara Lawrence-Lightfoot, a MacArthur prize-winning sociologist, is the Emily Hargroves Fisher Professor of Education at Harvard University, where she has been on the faculty since 1972. Educator, researcher, author, and public intellectual, Dr. Lawrence-Lightfoot has written nine books: Worlds Apart: Relationships Between Families and Schools (1978), Beyond Bias: Perspectives on Classrooms (1979) (with Jean Carew), and The Good High School: Portraits of Character and Culture (1983), which received the 1984 Outstanding Book Award from the American Educational Research Association. Her book, Balm In Gilead: Journey of A Healer (1988), which won the 1988 Christopher Award, given for “literary merit and humanitarian achievement,” was followed by I've Known Rivers: Lives of Loss and Liberation (1994), and The Art and Science of Portraiture (1997) (with Jessica Hoffmann Davis), which documents her pioneering approach to social science methodology; one that bridges the realms of aesthetics and empiricism.

In Respect: An Exploration (1999), Dr. Lawrence-Lightfoot reaches deep into human experience to find the essence of this powerful quality. The Essential Conversation: What Parents and Teachers Can Learn From Each Other (2003), captures the crucial exchange between parents and teachers, a dialogue that is both mirror and metaphor for the cultural forces that shape the socialization of our children. Her newest book, The Third Chapter: Risk, Passion, and Adventure in the Twenty-Five Years After 50, was published in January 2009.

Dr. Lawrence-Lightfoot is a member of numerous professional and scholarly committees and boards of directors including: The American Philosophical Society, The National Academy of Education, Bright Horizons, WGBH Educational Foundation, The Berklee College of Music, and the Atlantic Philanthropies where she is Deputy Chair. Dr. Lawrence-Lightfoot has been a Fellow at the Bunting Institute at Radcliffe College and at the Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences at Stanford University. In 1984, she was the recipient of the prestigious MacArthur Prize, and in 1993 she was awarded Harvard's George Ledlie Prize given for research that makes the “most valuable contribution to science” and “the benefit of mankind.” In 1995, she became a Spencer Senior Scholar; and in 2008, she was named the Margaret Mead Fellow by the Academy of Political and Social Sciences. Dr. Lawrence-Lightfoot has been the recipient of twenty-eight honorary degrees from colleges and universities in the United States and Canada.

In 1993, the Sara Lawrence-Lightfoot Chair, an endowed professorship was established at Swarthmore College; and in 1998, she was the recipient of the Emily Hargroves Fisher Endowed Chair at Harvard University, which upon her retirement, will become the Sara Lawrence-Lightfoot Endowed Chair, making her the first African-American woman in Harvard’s history to have an endowed professorship named in her honor.

Dr. Lawrence-Lightfoot did her undergraduate work in psychology at Swarthmore College (1962-1966) and received her doctorate in the sociology of education at Harvard in 1972.

Dr. Jonathan Fanton

Dr. Jonathan Fanton is a Franklin D. Roosevelt Visiting Fellow at Hunter College and was President of The MacArthur Foundation from 1999-2009. Dr. Fanton holds a Ph.D. in American History at Yale University where he taught and was Chief of Staff to President Kingman Brewster. He was Vice President of Planning at The University of Chicago and for 17 years was President of The New School for Social Research.

He is past Chair of Human Rights Watch, Security Council Report, The Union Square Development Corporation and The Association of Independent Colleges and Universities in New York. He is currently an Advisory Trustee at the Rockefeller Brothers Foundation, chair of the Africa Advisory Committee for Human Rights Watch, and a member of the Board of Millennium Promise.

About The Coalition for Educational Success

The Coalition for Educational Success includes many of the nation's leading career colleges, serving more than 350,000 students at 478 campuses in 41 states. Career colleges provide training for students in 17 of the 20 fastest growing fields. The Coalition advocates for policies that support wider access to higher education, particularly for non-traditional students including full-time workers, workforce returners, working parents, minorities and veterans.


The Coalition for Educational Success
Noah Black, 202-295-8797


The Coalition for Educational Success
Noah Black, 202-295-8797