IEEE-SA Funds eCrime Fighter Scholarship Program for APWG’s eCrime Researchers

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. & PISCATAWAY, N.J.--()--The APWG announced today that the IEEE Standards Association (IEEE-SA) will sponsor its eCrime Fighter Scholarship Program this fall at its eCrime Researchers Summit in Dallas, the APWG’s annual peer-reviewed research conference dedicated exclusively to ecrime research.

The IEEE-SA’s support will help promote counter-ecrime research by encouraging participation in the APWG eCrime Researcher Summit (eCRS) and allowing student and research scholars with papers accepted to the conference to attend the eCRS, present and network with peers within the growing research discipline of ecrime research.

APWG Deputy Secretary General Foy Shiver, who founded the eCrime Fighter Scholarship Program in 2006 to support the work of scholars in the field said, “When we began working on eCRS and the scholarship program, our main goal was to raise awareness and interest among researchers to focus resources on the electronic crime problem. With this further investment by the IEEE-SA in the program we can continue to expand the program and involve more Universities and Researchers around the globe.”

The IEEE-SA has been Technical Sponsor of the APWG ecrime Researchers Summit since 2007 and, since 2008, published the accepted papers in the IEEEXplore Digital Library. The funding of the scholarship program for this year’s conference marks a deepening relationship between the APWG, the pre-eminent international counter-ecrime association and the IEEE-SA, the Standards division of the IEEE, the world’s largest professional association dedicated to advancing technological innovation and excellence for the benefit of humanity.

The IEEE-SA’s support will help fund cash travel awards for student authors of accepted research papers and posters and cash awards for the highest-scored paper ($1500) and the runner-up ($500). The winners will be announced at the conclusion of the eCRS on October 20, at Southern Methodist University in Dallas.

The APWG eCRS was conceived by APWG Secretary General Peter Cassidy in 2006 as a venue for the presentation of the state-of-the-art basic and applied research into electronic crime, engaging every aspect of its development (technical, behavioral, social and legal) as well as technologies and techniques for its detection, related forensics and its prevention. The eCRS, brings together the most heterogeneous community of counter-ecrime stakeholders to confer over the latest research in the field, to foster collaborations and to provide a convenient venue for funding agencies to connect with leading principal investigators in the field.

eCRS has been held annually since 2006, presenting and publishing papers from research institutes around the world, including Harvard University, University of Cambridge, Carnegie Mellon University, University of Ballarat, Indiana University, City University of Hong Kong, University of Washington, Texas State University, Gelsenkirchen University of Applied Sciences, Mississippi State University, University of Alabama at Birmingham, New York University at Buffalo, University of Konstanz, University of Konstanz, University College Dublin, Georgia Institute of Technology and Southern Methodist University.

More recent papers from eCRS 2009 include: Determining Provenance in Phishing Websites using Automated Conceptual Analysis; Potential issues in Malicious Use and Abuse of the DNS Created or Exacerbated by the New gTLD Expansion; Discovery, Infiltration, and Denial of Service in a Process Control System Wireless Network; Identifying Vulnerable Websites by Analysis of Common Strings in Phishing URLs; Why Do Users Trust The Wrong Messages? and A Behavioural Model of Phishing.

The eCRS’ steering committee and technical program committee which reviews the papers submitted is a diverse, sagacious group of thought leaders in the ecrime research domain from industry and academic research centers, including Baylor University, Mitre, Palo Alto Research Center, Carnegie Mellon University, Booz Allen Hamilton, Harvard University, Amazon, Google, Iowa State University, IIIT Delhi, ICANN, Southern Methodist University, Fujitsu, Stevens Institute of Technology, Arbor Networks and Mozilla.

More information about the eCRS can be found here:

The eCRS and APWG General Members Meeting agenda can be found here:

About the APWG:

The APWG, founded in 2003 as the Anti-Phishing Working Group, is a global industry, law enforcement, and government coalition focused on eliminating the identity theft and fraud that result from the growing problem of phishing, email spoofing, and crimeware. Membership is open to qualified financial institutions, online retailers, ISPs, the law enforcement community and solutions providers. There are more than 1,800 companies, government agencies and NGOs participating in the APWG and more than 3,600 members. The APWG's Web sites – and - offer the public, industry and government agencies information about phishing and email fraud, including identification and promotion of pragmatic technical solutions that provide immediate protection. APWG's corporate sponsors are as follows: AT&T(T), Able NV, Afilias Ltd., AhnLab, AVG Technologies, BillMeLater, BBN Technologies, Booz Allen Hamilton, Blue Coat, BlueStreak, BrandMail, BrandProtect, Bsecure Technologies, Check Point Software Technologies, Cisco (CSCO), Clear Search, Cloudmark, Cyveillance, DigiCert, DigitalEnvoy, DigitalResolve, Digital River, Easy Solutions, eBay/PayPal (EBAY), Entrust (ENTU), eEye, ESET, Fortinet, FraudWatch International, FrontPorch, F-Secure, Goodmail Systems, GlobalSign, GoDaddy, Goodmail Systems, GuardID Systems, HomeAway, Huawei Symantec, IronPort, HitachiJoHo, ING Bank, Iconix, Internet Identity, Internet Security Systems, Intuit, IOvation, IronPort, IS3, IT Matrix, Kaspersky Labs, Kindsight, Lenos Software, LightSpeed Systems, MailFrontier, MailShell, MarkMonitor, M86Security, McAfee (MFE), MasterCard, MessageLevel, Microsoft (MSFT), MicroWorld, Mirapoint, MySpace (NWS), MyPW, MX Logic, NameProtect, National Australia Bank (ASX: NAB) Netcraft, NetStar, Network Solutions, NeuStar, Nominum, Panda Software, Phoenix Technologies Inc. (PTEC),, Phorm,, Prevx, The Planet, SIDN, SalesForce, Radialpoint, RSA Security (EMC), RuleSpace, SecureBrain, Secure Computing (SCUR), S21sec, Sigaba, SoftForum, SOPHOS, SquareTrade, SurfControl, SunTrust, Symantec (SYMC), TDS Telecom, Telefonica (TEF), Trend Micro (TMIC), Tricerion, TriCipher, TrustedID, Tumbleweed Communications (TMWD), Vasco (VDSI), VeriSign (VRSN), Visa, Wal-Mart (WMT), Websense Inc. (WBSN) and Yahoo! (YHOO) and ZYNGA.


Peter Cassidy, +1-617-669-1123


Peter Cassidy, +1-617-669-1123