The Press Club of Cleveland Honors the Best Journalists in Ohio; Celebrates 32nd Anniversary of the Event

CLEVELAND--()--The Press Club of Cleveland honored Ohio's top media performers Friday, June 18 at the 32nd Annual Ohio Excellence in Journalism Award, held at the Marriott Downtown at Key Center in Cleveland.

Entries were received from a variety of daily and non-daily newspapers, radio and television stations, internet sites, and trade and business publications from across the state. Competition categories included: daily newspaper, non-daily newspaper, new media, radio, television, business publications, trade publications, magazines, print visuals, photography and open print. Each publication entered was reviewed and critiqued by a panel of experts from out-of-state Press Clubs and media outlets.

The 2010 winners of the Best in Ohio awards include:

Best in Ohio: Column Writing
First - Bob Dyer, Akron Beacon Journal
Second - Kevin O'Brien, The Plain Dealer

Best in Ohio: Headline Writing
First - Paige Owens, The Plain Dealer
Second - Kevin O'Brien, The Plain Dealer

Best in Ohio: Reviews/Criticism
First – Steve Litt, The Plain Dealer
Second - Fran Heller, The Cleveland Jewish News

Best in Ohio: Essays
First - Joanna Connors, The Plain Dealer
Second - Michael Gill, Cleveland Scene

Best in Ohio: Editorials
First – Ray Cooklis, The Cincinnati Enquirer
Second - Frank Lewis, Cleveland Scene

Best in Ohio: Photographer
First - Gus Chan, The Plain Dealer
Second (tie) - John Kuntz, The Plain Dealer
Second (tie) - Dave Zapotsky, The Toledo Blade

Best in Ohio: Freelance Writer
First - Stuart Warner, The Write Coach
Second - Jill Sell, Various Publications

Best in Ohio: Staff Reporter
First - John Mangels, The Plain Dealer
Second - Sharon Coolidge, The Cincinnati Enquirer

Best in Ohio: Cartooning
First - Jeff Darcy, The Plain Dealer
Second - Kirk Walters, The Toledo Blade

Best in Ohio: Illustrations - All Publications
First - Ted Crow, The Plain Dealer
Second - Lars Leetaru, Cincinnati Magazine

Best in Ohio: Infographics
First - William Neff, The Plain Dealer

Best Magazine in Ohio
First – Jay Stowe, Editor, Cincinnati Magazine
Second – Staff, Cleveland Magazine

Best Web Site In Ohio
First – Joe Sheppa,
Second – Staff,

Best Trade Publication in Ohio
First – Staff, Golfdom Magazine
Second – Staff, Landscape Management

Best Business Publication in Ohio
First – Staff, Crain’s Cleveland Business
Second – Staff, Cincinnati Business Courier

Best Television Newscast in Ohio Major Market
First - ONN Staff, Ohio News Network

Best Radio Newscast in Ohio
First – Eric Wellman, WCPN

Best Non-Daily Newspaper in Ohio
First (tie) - Cleveland Jewish News Staff, Cleveland Jewish News
First (tie) - Marsha McKenna, Mike Lesko, Stow Sentry
Second - Eric Marotta, News Leader

Best Non-Daily Newspaper in Ohio: Alternatives
First – Cleveland Scene
Second – Cincinnati CityBeat

Best Daily Newspaper in Ohio 100,000 or less Circulation
First – Staff, The Morning Journal
Second – Staff, The Chronicle-Telegram

Best Daily Newspaper in Ohio: More Than 100,000 Circulation
First – Staff, The Plain Dealer
Second - Staff, The Cincinnati Enquirer

About the Press Club of Cleveland

The Press Club of Cleveland is an organization for print and broadcast journalists and editors, public relations and advertising professionals, and anyone who works with them. The club serves its members by providing social and educational opportunities, promoting excellence in journalism, attracting and educating high-quality candidates to enter journalism, and maintaining a history of journalism in Cleveland, Ohio. More information is available at or by calling 440-899-1222.


For The Press Club of Cleveland
Carol Saferin, 440-461-6753


For The Press Club of Cleveland
Carol Saferin, 440-461-6753