2010 Gerald Loeb Award Finalists Announced by UCLA Anderson School of Management

Lifetime Achievement Award Goes to Walt Bogdanich, Assistant Investigative Editor of The New York Times

Alix Freedman of The Wall Street Journal to Receive Lawrence Minard Editor Award

LOS ANGELES--()--Judy D. Olian, chairman of the G. and R. Loeb Foundation Inc. and dean of UCLA Anderson School of Management, today announced the finalists of the 2010 Gerald Loeb Awards for Distinguished Business and Financial Journalism. She also announced the recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award and the Lawrence Minard Editor Award. Winners in the 13 competition categories will be announced at the 2010 Loeb Awards dinner on Tuesday, June 29, 2010, at Capitale in New York City.

The 2010 Lifetime Achievement Award recipient is Walt Bogdanich, assistant investigative editor at The New York Times. This annual award recognizes an individual whose career exemplifies the consistent and superior insight and professional skills necessary to further the understanding of business, financial and economic issues.

Alix Freedman, deputy managing editor at The Wall Street Journal, will receive the 2010 Lawrence Minard Editor Award, named in memory of Laury Minard, founding editor of Forbes Global and a former final judge for the Loeb Awards. This award honors excellence in business, financial and economic journalism editing and recognizes an editor whose work does not receive a byline or whose face does not appear on the air for the work covered.

Winners in the 13 competition categories will be announced from among the following finalists, which were chosen from among a record 513 entries. (Note: Television Breaking News and News Services Finalists will be announced later this week.)

Large Newspapers Category Finalists

  • Gretchen Morgenson, Don Van Natta Jr., Peter S. Goodman and Jenny Anderson for “Back to Business” in The New York Times
  • Michael Moss and Andrew Martin for “Food Safety” in The New York Times
  • Charles Duhigg for “Toxic Waters” in The New York Times
  • Kate Kelly, Jon Hilsenrath, Dan Fitzpatrick, Suzanne Craig, Deborah Solomon, Damian Paletta and David Enrich for “USA Inc.: The State of Capitalism” in The Wall Street Journal
  • Mark Maremont for “The Talented Mr. Pang” in The Wall Street Journal

Medium & Small Newspapers Category Finalists

  • Rick Montgomery and Dan Margolies for “Enterprise Rent-A-Car Airbags” in The Kansas City Star
  • Michael Sallah, Rob Barry and Lucy Komisar for “Keys to the Kingdom: How State Regulators Enabled a $7 Billion Ponzi Scheme” in The Miami Herald
  • Raquel Rutledge for “Cashing in on Kids” in Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
  • Kirsten Grind for “WaMu’s Final Days” in Puget Sound Business Journal

Magazines Category Finalists

  • James Bandler, Nicholas Varchaver and Doris Burke for “How Bernie Did It” in Fortune Magazine
  • Joe Nocera for “Risk Mismanagement” in The New York Times Magazine
  • Nina Munk for “Rich Harvard, Poor Harvard” in Vanity Fair
  • Fred Vogelstein for “Facebook Versus Google” in Wired Magazine

Commentary Category Finalists

  • David Leonhardt for “Economic Scene” in The New York Times
  • Joseph E. Stiglitz for “Capitalist Fools and Wall Street’s Toxic Message” in Vanity Fair
  • Michael Wolff for “The Ultimate Bubble and Rupert to Internet: It’s War!” in Vanity Fair
  • Steven Pearlstein for “Commentary by Steven Pearlstein” in The Washington Post

Breaking News Category Finalists

  • Matthew Goldstein for “Stanford Financial Coverage” in Bloomberg BusinessWeek
  • Christine Tierney, David Shepardson and Gordon Trowbridge for “Breaking News (Big 3)” in The Detroit News
  • Louise Story for “Return of the Big Payday” in The New York Times
  • Jon Hilsenrath and Kate Kelly for “New York Fed Chairman’s Ties to Goldman Raise Questions” in The Wall Street Journal
  • Brady Dennis, David Cho and Binyamin Appelbaum for “AIG” in The Washington Post

Beat Writing Category Finalists

  • Greg Sandoval for “SpiralFrog Coverage” in CNET
  • Ralph Vartabedian and Ken Bensinger for “The Toyota Recall” in Los Angeles Times
  • Michael Moss and Andrew Martin for “Food Safety” in The New York Times
  • Aaron Kessler for “Contaminated Chinese Drywall” in Sarasota Herald-Tribune

Feature Writing Category Finalists

  • James Bandler and Doris Burke for “The Grifter?” in Fortune Magazine
  • David Segal for “After the Meltdown” in The New York Times
  • Michael Lewis for “Wall Street on the Tundra” in Vanity Fair
  • Robert A. Guth, Susan Pulliam and Justin Scheck for “The Network” in The Wall Street Journal

Online Commentary and Blogging Category Finalists

  • Adrian Wooldridge, Steven N. Kaplan, Nell Minow, Patrick Lane, Brad DeLong, Luigi Zingales, Saugato Datta, Thomas Picketty and Chris Edwards for “Online Debates” for The Economist
  • David Pogue for “Pogue’s Posts” for The New York Times
  • Francine McKenna for “re: The Auditors” for re: The Auditors Blog
  • Jim Prevor for “Business, Finances and Public Policy” for The Weekly Standard

Personal Finance Category Finalists

  • Ron Lieber and Andrew Martin for “The Card Game” in The New York Times
  • Janet Paskin for “The Accidental 401(k) Planner” in SmartMoney Magazine
  • Angie C. Marek for “Paging Dr. No” in SmartMoney Magazine
  • Matthew Hathaway, Elizabethe Holland and Jim Gallagher for “From Prison to the Pinnacle” in St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Television Enterprise Category Finalists

  • Brian Ross, Joseph Rhee, Angela Hill and Asa Eslocker for “Brian Ross Investigates: Runaway Toyotas” on ABC News
  • Jeff Fager, Bill Owens, Scott Pelley, Claudia Weinstein and Draggan Mihailovich for “Amazon Crude” on CBS News/60 Minutes
  • David Faber, Mitch Weitzner, James Jacoby, Jill Landes and Patrick Ahearn for “House of Cards” on CNBC
  • Marlena Telvick, Lowell Bergman, Oriana Zill de Granados and Daniel Hirst for “Black Money” on PBS Frontline
  • Byron Harris, Mark Smith, Kraig Kirchem and Billy Bryant for “Safety for Sale” on WFAA-TV

Business Book Category Finalists

  • David Wessel for “In Fed We Trust” published by Crown Business
  • Liaquat Ahamed for “Lords of Finance: The Bankers Who Broke the World” published by The Penguin Press
  • Andrew Ross Sorkin for “Too Big to Fail: The Inside Story of How Wall Street and Washington Fought to Save the Financial System — and Themselves” published by Penguin Group (USA) - Viking

Television Breaking News and News Services Finalists will be announced later this week.

For more information about the Loeb Awards, please visit the Loeb Awards website at http://www.loeb.anderson.ucla.edu, or e-mail loeb@anderson.ucla.edu or call the Loeb Awards office at 310-825-4478.


UCLA Anderson School of Management
Jonathan Daillak, 310-825-4478


UCLA Anderson School of Management
Jonathan Daillak, 310-825-4478