Key Public Policy Issues Featured at The 2008 Cable Show

NCTA Line-Up of Speakers and Sessions to Feature Keynote Address from U.S. Commerce Secretary Carlos Gutierrez

NCTA's The Cable Show 2008

WASHINGTON--()--The National Cable & Telecommunications Association (NCTA) announced today that Carlos M. Gutierrez, U.S. Secretary of Commerce, will provide a keynote address at The Cable Show 08, on Monday, May 19 at 4:30 p.m. Central Daylight Time. The comments of Secretary Gutierrez, the 35th U.S. Secretary of Commerce, will come at the top of the Monday General Session at the Show.

NCTA also announced details for other panels and sessions focusing on important public policy issues during its 57th Annual Convention and International Exposition to be held May 18-20, 2008, in New Orleans.

The Cable Show 08 Public Policy program will kick-off on Sunday, May 18 with a luncheon, hosted by ARRIS, featuring former Federal Communications Commission (FCC) Chairmen and Commissioners commenting on the 2008 Presidential election and the regulatory outlook for telecommunications under each of three potential administrations. Each panelist will represent the views of one of the three major Presidential candidates:

  • Bill Kennard, former Chairman, FCC (Obama)
  • Susan Ness, former Commissioner, FCC (Clinton)
  • Michael Powell, former Chairman, FCC (McCain)
  • Moderated by Kathleen Abernathy, former Commissioner, FCC

In addition to Secretary Gutierrezs address at the beginning of Monday afternoons general session, a Public Policy luncheon on May 19 will feature:

  • FCC Commissioner Jonathan Adelstein
  • FCC Commissioner Michael Copps
  • FCC Commissioner Robert McDowell
  • Federal Trade Commission Commissioner Jon Leibowitz
  • NTIA Acting Assistant Secretary Meredith Baker
  • Moderated by Dan Brenner, Sr. Vice President, Law & Regulatory Policy, NCTA

On Tuesday, May 20, the Public Policy luncheon will feature a discussion between cable and broadcast chief executives on the digital transition:

  • David Rehr, President and CEO, National Association of Broadcasters
  • Paul McTear, President and CEO, Raycom Media
  • Jack Sander, Senior Advisor, Belo Corporation and Chairman, NAB Joint Board
  • Paul Karpowicz, President, Meredith Corporation Broadcasting Group
  • Glenn Britt, President & CEO, Time Warner Cable
  • Bob Miron, Chairman & CEO, Advance/Newhouse Communications
  • Moderated by Deborah Lathen, former Chief, FCC Cable Services Bureau

All three Public Policy Lunches are invitation only but employees of NCTA member companies that wish to attend should email their request to Space is limited and each requestor will receive a personal response as to whether he or she can be accommodated. The lunches are open to news media, and there will be a sign-up sheet in the Media Center at Morial Convention Center in New Orleans.

Other highlights of the Cable Show Public Policy Agenda include the following sessions:

Regulatory Review: Bureau Chiefs & Legal Advisors on Media Matters

Tuesday, May 20, 11:00 a.m.

  • Elizabeth Andrion, Interim Legal Advisor, Office of Chairman Martin, FCC
  • Matthew Berry, General Counsel, Office of the General Counsel, FCC
  • Catherine Bohigian, Chief, Office of Strategic Planning & Policy Analysis, FCC
  • Rudy Brioche, Legal Advisor, Office of Commissioner Adelstein, FCC
  • Rick Chessen, Sr. Legal Advisor, Office of Commissioner Copps, FCC
  • Christina Pauzé, Legal Advisor, Office of Commissioner McDowell, FCC
  • Maureen Ohlhausen, Director, Office of Policy Planning, FTC
  • Moderated by Kathryn Zachem, VP, Regulatory Affairs, Comcast Corporation

Potomac Perspective: Washington Insiders on Politics & Policy

Monday, May 19, 10:45 a.m.

  • Featuring Congressional Staff Members to be announced
  • Moderated by Steve Vest, Senior Vice President, Government Relations, NCTA

Town Hall: The Role of State and Local Governments in Broadband Policy

Monday, May 19, 10:00 a.m.

  • Daryl Bassett, Commissioner, Arkansas State Public Utility Commission
  • Doris Boris, President, National Association of Telecommunications Officers & Advisors (NATOA)
  • Senator Carol Fukunaga, Hawaii - Chair, Economic Development and Taxation Committee, NCSL Executive Committee
  • Sharon Gillett, Commissioner, Massachusetts Department of Telecommunications & Cable
  • Representative Shane Jett, Oklahoma - Chair, Rules Committee, Vice Chair - NCSL, CFS & IC Committee
  • Representative Brian Patrick Kennedy, Rhode Island - Chair, House Corporations Committee, Vice Chair - NCSL, CFS & IC Committee
  • Representative Joseph Miro, Delaware, President, NHCSL
  • Representative Phil Montgomery, Wisconsin - Chair, Energy and Utilities CommitteVice Chair - NCSL, CFS & IC Committee
  • Representative Rene Oliveira, Texas - House Committee on Regulated Industries
  • Senator Jeff Plale, Wisconsin - Chair, Senate Committee on Commerce, Utilities and Rail
  • James Bradford Ramsay, General Counsel, NARUC
  • Senator Donna Stone, Delaware, President, NCSL
  • Michael Talbett, Chair, Telecommunications & Technology Steering Committee, National Association of Counties (NACo)
  • Nicol Turner-Lee, Ph. D., VP, Digital Inclusion, One Economy Corporation
  • Moderated by Ken Ferree, President of the Progress and Freedom Foundation and former FCC Media Bureau Chief

21st Century Communications Policy: The Role of the States

Monday, May 19, 3:00 p.m.

  • John Burke, Member, Vermont Public Service Board
  • Tony Clark, Commissioner, North Dakota Public Service Commission
  • Maureen Harris, Commissioner, New York State Public Service Commission
  • Philip Jones, Commissioner, Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
  • Michael Moffet, Commissioner, Kansas Corporation Commission
  • Anthony Palermino, Commissioner, Connecticut Department of Public Utility Control
  • Moderated by Rick Cimerman, Vice President, State Government Affairs, NCTA

Safety First: Child Online Safety and the Role of State Attorneys General

Tuesday, May 20, 11:00 a.m.

  • FCC Commissioner Deborah Tate will be a guest speaker
  • Mike Cox, Attorney General, State of Michigan
  • Marsali Hancock, President, Internet Keep Safe Coalition
  • Lisa Hicks-Thomas, Deputy Attorney General, Commonwealth of Virginia
  • Patrick Lynch, Attorney General, State of Rhode Island
  • Moderated by Amy Cohn, Executive Director, Public Affairs, Cox Communications, Inc.

Theyve Got Issues: State & Local Policy Roundtables

Tuesday, May 20, 2:45 p.m.

  • Carolyn Coleman, Director, Federal Relations, National League of Cities
  • Chad Hume, Acting Telecommunications Director, New York State Public Service Commission
  • Michael Morris, Director, Video Franchise and Broadband Deployment Group, California Public Utility Commission
  • Neal Osten, Director, CFS & IC Committee, National Conference of State Legislatures
  • Joseph Sutherland, Executive Director, Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission

Additional, up-to-the-minute information for The Cable Show 08 is available at, or from NCTA's Department of Industry Affairs (202-222-2430). For more information about exhibit space at The Cable Show 08, contact NCTA Convention Headquarters at (202) 463-7905 or e-mail

NCTA is the principal trade association for the U.S. cable industry, representing cable operators serving more than 90 percent of the nation's cable television households and more than 200 cable program networks. The cable industry is the nations largest broadband provider of high-speed Internet access after investing more than $130 billion over ten years to build a two-way interactive network with fiber optic technology. Cable companies also provide state-of-the-art digital telephone service to millions of American consumers.


for The Cable Show
Brian Dietz/Rob Stoddard, 202-222-2350
Fratelli Group
Eric Thomas, 202-822-9491


for The Cable Show
Brian Dietz/Rob Stoddard, 202-222-2350
Fratelli Group
Eric Thomas, 202-822-9491