Finalists for Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year® Award in the Upper Midwest Announced

MINNEAPOLIS--()--Ernst & Young LLP is pleased to announce today the finalists for the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year award in the Upper Midwest. This group of exceptional entrepreneurs was selected by an independent judging panel made up of regional business, academic and community leaders. The winners will be revealed at a gala event on June 5, 2008 at the Marriott City Center in Minneapolis.

These finalists are the best of the best, embodying the unique spirit of entrepreneurism, said Bill Miller, Ernst & Young Strategic Growth Markets Partner for the Upper Midwest. They positively impact our region in a major way, through jobs, community growth and development and innovation. Ernst & Young is proud to salute them.

The Upper Midwest finalists for the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year award in 2008 are:

  • Jeff Klinger, CEO and Chuck Runyon, CFO - Anytime Fitness, Inc. - Hastings, MN
  • Daniel Ariens, President and CEO - Ariens Company - Brillion, WI
  • Frank Jaehnert, President - Brady Corporation - Milwaukee, WI
  • Jeffrey Hausmann, CEO - Cedar Valley Exteriors - Blaine, MN
  • Joe Fazio, III, Chairman and CEO; Dave Borchardt, CFO and Tom Hopp, President - Commerce State Bank - West Bend, WI
  • Phil Soran, Chairman; Larry Aszmann, CTO and John Guider, COO - Compellent Technologies, Inc. - Eden Prairie, MN
  • Daren Cotter, CEO; Jack Johnson, COO and Keith Olson, Vice President - CotterWeb Enterprises, Inc. - Mendota Heights, MN
  • Ross Bjella, President - DDN/Obergfel, LLC - Germantown, WI
  • Joseph Dunsmore, Chairman - Digi International, Inc. - Minnetonka, MN
  • Andy Nunemaker, CEO - EMSystem LLC - Milwaukee, WI
  • Greg Gartner, President and CEO - Gartner Studios, Inc. - Stillwater, MN
  • Olaf Harken, CEO and Peter Harken, President - Harken, Inc. - Pewaukee, WI
  • Peter Goldstein, President - Long Term Care Group, Inc. - Eden Prairie, MN
  • Arthur Huge, President and CEO - Menasha Corporation - Neenah, WI
  • Rick Hinner, Vice President and Roger E. Hinner, Jr., President - Merrill Iron & Steel, Inc. - Schofield, WI
  • Thomas Kenville, President and CEO - Midwest Aero Holdings, LLC - West Fargo, ND
  • Christian Cornelius-Knudsen, CEO - Nilfisk-Advance, Inc. - Plymouth, MN
  • Scott Stern, President - Norscot Group, Inc. - Mequon, WI
  • Daniel Baker, Ph.D., President and CEO - NVE Corporation - Eden Prairie, MN
  • Mal Hepburn, Chairman and Founder - Ozaukee Bank - Cedarburg, WI
  • Stephen Flagg, President and CEO - Quality Bicycle Products, Inc. - Bloomington, MN
  • Jeffrey Kiesel, CEO - Restaurant Technologies, Inc. - Eagan, MN
  • William Jeatran, CEO - RJF Agencies - Minneapolis, MN
  • Karl Ostby, President and CEO - Southport Bank - Kenosha, WI
  • Norman Skalicky, CEO - Stearns Bank N.A. - St. Cloud, MN
  • Michael Erwin, President - Tailored Label Products - Menomonee Falls, WI
  • Lyle Fahning, President and CEO- Technical Services for Electronics, Inc. - Arlington, MN
  • Richard Copeland, CEO - Thor Construction, Inc. - Fridley, MN
  • Daniel Rashke, President and CEO - Total Administrative Services Corp. - Madison, WI
  • Dr. Sean Casey, Chairman and CEO - Virtual Radiologic Corporation - Minnetonka, MN
  • Jeff Ball, President and Dan Petersen, Vice President - Wisconsin Built, Inc. - Deerfield, WI


Founded and produced by Ernst & Young LLP, the Entrepreneur Of The Year awards are pleased to have the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation and SAP America as national sponsors. In the Upper Midwest, sponsors include Faegre & Benson LLP, Clifton Gunderson LLP, and Twin Cities Business as regional sponsors, and Padilla Speer Beardsley, Milwaukee Business Journal, and Marquette University as local sponsors.

For ticket information, contact Kimberly Anderson at or 612-371-6924.

About Ernst & Youngs Entrepreneur Of The Year

Ernst & Youngs Entrepreneur Of The Year is the worlds most prestigious business award for entrepreneurs. The award makes a difference through the unique way it encourages entrepreneurial activity among those with potential and recognizes the contribution of people who inspire others with their vision, leadership and achievement. As the first and only truly global award of its kind, Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year celebrates those who are building and leading successful, growing and dynamic businesses, recognizing them through regional, national and global awards programs in more than 135 cities in 50 countries.

About Ernst & Young

Ernst & Young is a global leader in assurance, tax, transaction and advisory services. Worldwide, our 130,000 people are united by our shared values and an unwavering commitment to quality. We make a difference by helping our people, our clients and our wider communities achieve potential.

For more information, please visit

Ernst & Young refers to the global organization of member firms of Ernst & Young Global Limited, each of which is a separate legal entity. Ernst & Young Global Limited, a UK company limited by guarantee, does not provide services to clients. This news release has been issued by Ernst & Young LLP, a member firm of Ernst & Young Global Limited.


Ernst & Young LLP
Wendy Fox, 612-371-6703


Ernst & Young LLP
Wendy Fox, 612-371-6703