Latino Actors Honored at 22nd Annual Imagen Awards Featuring America Ferrera, Wilmer Valderrama, Jimmy Smits, Carlos Mencia, Kelly Monaco, Hector Elizondo, Tony Plana, Judy Reyes and More

Distinguished Event Sells Out at Walt Disney Concert Hall With Special Awards For Disney-ABC Television Group, America Ferrera, Walter Ulloa and Cynthia Cidre

Winners in 19 Categories for Film and Television Announced

LOS ANGELES--()--More than 2,000 actors, entertainment industry executives, film and television studios and supporters including actors America Ferrera, Wilmer Valderrama, Jimmy Smits, Carlos Mencia, Kelly Monaco, Hector Elizondo, Tony Plana, Judy Reyes, Constance Marie, Jesse Garcia attended the 22nd Annual Imagen Awards Gala debut tonight at the sold out Walt Disney Concert Hall.

Nineteen awards were presented in categories including film and television, plus The Imagen Foundation presented four additional awards including the Presidents Award to Disney-ABC Television Group with an acceptance by Anne Sweeney, Co-chairman, Disney Media Networks, President, Disney-ABC Television Group; the Lifetime Achievement Award to Walter Ulloa, Chairman & CEO, Entravision; the Creative Achievement Award to America Ferrera, star of ABCs Ugly Betty; and the Norman Lear Writers Award to Cynthia Cidre, writer of Cane, an upcoming CBS Latino-cast series.

The Imagen Awards were established in 1985 to encourage and recognize the positive portrayal of Latinos in all media and to increase Latino representation at all levels of the entertainment industry.

Talent at the 22nd Annual Imagen Awards (In Alphabetical Order):


Jake T. Austin, Nominee, (Best Actor, TV, Go, Diego, GO!)

Kuno Becker, Nominee, (Best Actor, Film, GOAL)

Hector Luis Bustamante, Presenter, (THE SHIELD)

Nestor Carbonell, Presenter, (CANE)

Ricardo Antonio Chivira, Presenter, (DESPERATE HOUSEWIVES)

Maria Costa, Presenter

Kat De Luna, Performer

Yasmin Deliz, Presenter, (VIVO)

Laura Diaz, Presenter, (CBS 2 NEWS)

Sandra Echeverria, Presenter, (MARINA)

Hector Elizondo, Presenter, (CANE)

America Ferrera, Honoree, (UGLY BETTY)

Aimee Garcia, Nominee, (Supporting Actress, TV, THE GEORGE LOPEZ SHOW)

Jesse Garcia, Nominee, (Best Actor, Film, QUINCEANERA)

Chalo Gonzalez, Nominee, (Best Supporting Actor, Film, QUINCEANERA)

Kathleen Herles, Nominee, (Best Actress, TV, DORA THE EXPLORER)

Dalia Hernandez, Nominee, (Best Supporting Actress, Film, APOCALYPTO)

Eva La Rue, Nominee, (Supporting Actress, TV, CSI: MIAMI)

T. Lopez, Presenter, (THE DROP)

Constance Marie, Nominee, (Best Actress, TV, THE GEORGE LOPEZ SHOW)

Erika Martin, Presenter, (STYLE NETWORK)

Eddie Matos, Presenter (CANE)

Carlos Mencia, Nominee, (Best Actor, TV, MIND OF MENCIA)

Eva Menez, Nominee, (Best Actress, Film, GHOST RIDER)

Kelly Monaco, Presenter, (GENERAL HOSPITAL)

Amaury Nolasco, Presenter, (PRISON BREAK)

Lupe Ontiveros, Presenter

Ana Ortiz, Nominee, (Best Supporting Actress, TV, UGLY BETTY)

Valerie Ortiz, Guest, (South of Nowhere)

J.D. Pardo, Nominee, (Best Actor, TV, A GIRL LIKE ME, THE GWEN ARUJO STORY)

Tony Plana, Nominee, (Best Supporting Actor, Film, GOAL)

Victoria Recano, Presenter, (THE INSIDER)

Judy Reyes, Nominee, (Best Actress, TV, SCRUBS)

Emily Rios, Nominee, (Best Actress, Film, QUINCEANERA)

Diana Maria Riva, Presenter, (LIFETIME)

Jelynn Rodriguez, Presenter, (THE DROP)

Romeo, Presenter, (THE DROP)

Jimmy Smits, Presenter, (CANE)

Paola Turbay, Presenter, (CANE)

Wilmer Valderrama, Nominee, (Best Actor, Film, FAST FOOD NATION)

Jose Yenque, Nominee, (Best Supporting Actor, TV, BETWEEN)

David Zayas, Nominee, (Best Supporting Actor, TV, DEXTER)

Sponsors of the 22nd Annual Imagen Awards include:


Premiere: Disney-ABC Television Group


Diamond: Hoy, L.A. Times Media Group,, National Graphics and Printing


Platinum: Variety, Lear Family Foundation


Gold: The Hollywood Reporter, CBS, ipressroom, Entravision Communications Corporation, Fox TelevisionStation Inc., LATV Networks, NBC Universal, T52 Telemundo, Paramount Vantage, Sony Pictures, Universal Money, KXLA Television-44, Warner Bros. Entertainment, Hennesy, Privilege, V.S.O.P.


Additional information regarding the Imagen Foundation and its awards program is available on its Web site:, or by calling 626-836-6100.


July 28, 2007


Film Best Picture: Pan's Labyrinth

Film Best Actor: Kuno Becker -- Goal

Film Best Actress: Ivana Baquero -- Pan's Labyrinth

Film Best Supporting Actress: Dalia Hernandez -- Apocalypto

Film Best Supporting Actor: Gerardo Teracena -- Apocalypto

Film Best Director: Guillermo Del Toro -- Pan's Labyrinth

Film Best Theatrical Short or Student Film: La Primavera Communion

Film Best Theatrical Production: Macho Men & The Women Who Love Them

TV and Film Best Documentary: Lalo Guerrero -- The Original Chicano

TV Best Primetime Program: Ugly Betty

TV Best Actor: Miguel Ferrer -- Crossing Jordan

TV Best Actress: America Ferrera -- Ugly Betty

TV Best Supporting Actor: Jose Yenque -- Between

TV Best Supporting Actress: Ana Ortiz -- Ugly Betty

TV Best Variety or Reality Show: Dancing With The Stars

TV Best Children's Programming: Dora The Explorer

TV Best Local Informational Programming: Life and Times

TV Best National Informational Programming: Voces

TV Best On Air Advertising: Splenda - Mama Yo Quiero New


For Imagen Foundation
Sandi Padnos

818-517-5888 (cell)


For Imagen Foundation
Sandi Padnos

818-517-5888 (cell)