Fifth Annual Costume Designers Guild Awards Set for March 16 at Regent Beverly Wilshire Hotel

BEVERLY HILLS, Calif.--()--The Costume Designers Guild (CDG) will present winners in five categories of costume design for theatrical films, television and commercials at its Fifth Annual Excellence in Costume Design Awards on Sunday, March 16, at a black-tie banquet in the Regent Beverly Wilshire Hotel. The event will also mark the 50th anniversary of the founding of the Guild. Anjelica Huston will be mistress of ceremonies. Presenters include Andy Garcia, Laura San Giacomo, Mira Sorvino, Meryl Streep, Rick Levine, Bob Mackie and others. Dustin Hoffman will be presented an honorary award for Distinguished Actor. Deborah Nadoolman Landis is President of CDG.

Other honorary awards will be presented to Ann Roth for Career Achievement in Film, to Rita Riggs for Career Achievement in Television, and to legendary Italian Costume Designer Piero Tosi for The President's Award. In addition, Clare West, Mitchell Leisen, Natacha Rambova and Wayne Finkelman will be inducted into the Guild's Hall of Fame.

    The nominees for 2003 Excellence in Costume Design Awards are:

Excellence in Film, Contemporary

"About A Boy" -- Joanna Johnston
"About Schmidt" -- Wendy Chuck
"Igby Goes Down" -- Sarah Edwards
"Unfaithful" -- Ellen Mirojnick
"White Oleander" -- Susie DeSanto

Excellence in Film, Period/Fantasy

"Chicago" -- Colleen Atwood
"Frida" -- Julie Weiss
"Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers" -- Ngila Dickson
"Road to Perdition" -- Albert Wolsky

Excellence in Television, Contemporary

"Alias" -- Laura Goldsmith
"Sex and the City" -- Patricia Fields
"Six Feet Under" -- Gail McMullen
"Sopranos" -- Juliet Polcsa

Excellence in Television, Period/Fantasy

"American Dreams" -- Jane Anderson
"Fidel" -- Mayes C. Rubeo
"Rosa Parks Story" -- Karen Perry
"That '70s Show" -- Melina Root

Excellence in Commercial Costume Design

Kym Barrett, Costume Designer for Anti Smoking -- PSA -- 
  "Heart Disease"
Kathleen Detoro, Costume Designer for U.S. Cellular, "Signs"
Louise Frogley, Costume Designer for BMW, "Beat the Devil"
Dona Granata, Costume Designer for Pier One, "Holiday Sanity"
Bobbie Mannix, Costume Designer for "T-On Line" Campaign
Susan Nininger, Costume Designer for "Pohjola"
Alexandra Welker, Costume Designer for Taco Bell, "Enjoy Your Stay"

Each winner of a CDG award receives a work-of-art silver statuette, valued at $15,000 by its supplier, the famed Italian jewelers Bvlgari. The award, one of the most sought-after statuettes in the world of awards, was designed by CDG member David LeVey who describes it as "an amorphous swirl of fabric resolving into a draped human figure of idealized female beauty." The statuettes reflect a mixture of neo-classicism and 1940s Hollywood glamour.

Honorary co-chairs of the CDG Awards are Bob Mackie and Ray Aghayan. Executive Director is James J. Casey Jr. CDG Awards Chair of the CDG Awards Committee is Lois DeArmond with Robin Richesson and Bonnie Nipar assisting on important sub-committees. Sponsors of this year's CDG Awards include Bvlgari, International Creative Management, Cinecitta Holding, The Scenographer, The Hollywood Reporter, Daily Variety. For ticket information to the CDG Awards: 310/996-1188.

NOTE TO MEDIA: Major media are invited to cover the CDG Awards by contacting Marc Kruskol or Annie Keropian for credentials at the Weissman/Delson Communications office on Thursday through Sunday, March 20-23, at 818/760-8995.


Weissman/Delson Communications
Murray Weissman/Dick Delson, 818/760-8995
Fax: 818/760-4847


Weissman/Delson Communications
Murray Weissman/Dick Delson, 818/760-8995
Fax: 818/760-4847