Pepperdine Law School Wins Loyola Law Schools 5th Annual National Civil Trial Competition

LOS ANGELES--(BUSINESS WIRE)--Pepperdine Law School was announced as the champion of Loyola Law Schools 5th annual National Civil Trial Competition on Saturday, November 11, 2006 at an awards banquet held at the Wilshire Grand Hotel in Los Angeles, CA. The winning Pepperdine team members included: Janella Davis, Stephen Faulk, Zeke Fortenberry and Amy Teeples. The Best Advocate/Final Rounds award went to Pepperdines Stephen Faulk, and the Best Advocate/Preliminary Rounds award went to Loyolas Gavin Doyle. The Santa Monica, CA. law firm of Greene Broillet & Wheeler sponsors the event which is held annually by Loyola Law School under the aegis of Prof. Susan Poehls.

“We applaud all of the law students and their coaches who participated”

Sixteen law schools participated in the by invitation only tournament which began on November 9, 2006, with more than 50 law schools vying for a slot in the competition. The U.S. District Courthouse in Los Angeles was the locale for the elimination rounds. A hypothetical case was argued, drawing its facts from a recent high profile civil lawsuit involving a well-known journalist who was working on an article about the business dealings of several high profile entertainment industry figures. The plaintiff alleged that a well-known private investigator was behind certain threats and assaults which brought the reporters career to a halt.

The semi-final and final rounds were held November 11, 2006 on campus at Loyola Law Schools Albert H. Girardi Advocacy Center, and the four law schools in contention for the championship were: Loyola Law School, Los Angeles, Pepperdine Law School, University of Maryland School of Law, and St. Johns University School of Law. The final round of the competition was between Pepperdine and St. Johns. The Finalist Trophy was awarded to St. Johns and Semi-Finalist Trophies went to Loyola and University of Maryland.

More than 120 members of the greater Los Angeles legal community volunteered as tournament judges. The Final Rounds of the National Civil Trial Competition were presided over by U.S. Magistrate Judge Stephen J. Hillman along with Bruce A. Broillet (partner, Greene Broillet & Wheeler), Tom Girardi (partner, Girardi & Keese), Russell D. Jura (General Counsel, Yamaha Motor Corporation, U.S.A.), Edith Matthai (partner, Robie & Matthai), and Matthew Geragos (partner, Geragos & Geragos).

The Semi-Final Rounds were presided over by the Hon. Lourdes Baird and the Hon. Larry Crispo, along with Mark Quigley, Geoff Wells, Scott Carr, Alan Van Gelder (all at Greene Broillet & Wheeler), J.J. Weston (partner, JJW Law), Neville Johnson (partner, Johnson & Rishwain), Alan Saler (with Dispute Eradication Services) and Walter Yoka (partner, Yoka & Smith).

We applaud all of the law students and their coaches who participated, stated Prof. Susan Poehls. This years competition was exceptional because each team came prepared to win and presented oral arguments that were fresh and original. We think that the opportunity to argue in a Federal courthouse adds a special element to the tournament, and gives the law students an insight into how real-world civil litigators collaborate to win at trial.

Once again, Loyola Law School has orchestrated a tournament that has real teeth, stated Timothy J. Wheeler, managing partner of Greene Broillet & Wheeler. The NCTC is a great training ground, giving law students an opportunity to experience the trial process first-hand, and a chance to appreciate the underpinnings of our civil justice system and its importance in maintaining a healthy democracy. Our law firm is proud to sponsor the NCTC, and we look forward to its continued success.

Loyolas National Civil Trial Competition was launched in 2002 by Prof. Susan Poehls and is sponsored by the Santa Monica, CA. plaintiffs law firm of Greene Broillet & Wheeler. It gives second and third year law students an opportunity to develop and display the skills of a successful civil litigator. Each school sends a four-member team and is required to argue both sides of the case and to role-play as parties and witnesses.

In 2006, the 16 law schools selected to compete in Loyola Law Schools National Civil Trial Competition were: University of Akron School of Law, Brooklyn Law School, University of Buffalo Law School, University of Denver College of Law, George Washington School of Law Center, University of Houston Law Center, Loyola Law School Los Angeles, Loyola University Chicago, University of Maryland School of Law, Pepperdine Law School, South Texas College of Law, Stetson University College of Law, St. Johns University School of Law, Syracuse University College of Law, Temple Law School, and Washington University in St. Louis.

EDITORS NOTE: Photographs are available upon request.


Loyola Law School
Kira Poplowski, PhD, Director of Communications
Greene Broillet & Wheeler, LLP
Kathy Pinckert, J.D., Director of Marketing/Media

Better Be Business Wired.

Business Wire is the leading source for press releases, photos, multimedia and regulatory filings from companies and groups throughout the world.