Top Tech Firms Honored at 2006 Techpoint Mira Awards; Largest and Most Prestigious Technology Awards in the State Recognize Contributions to the Growth of Indiana's Economy

INDIANAPOLIS--(BUSINESS WIRE)--May 19, 2006--A capacity crowd including leaders of technology businesses, government and universities gathered Friday, May 19, at the Indiana Roof Ballroom to honor the best and brightest contributors to Indiana's technology-related economy.

The Techpoint Mira Awards are the largest and most prestigious technology awards program in the state. Mira--meaning "star" in Greek--is designed to shine a spotlight on Indiana's technology community and create awareness surrounding the state's technology accomplishments.

Companies in seven categories received top honors. More than 50 companies were nominated for awards. Each of the eligible technology-related industries have fueled the state's economy, brought global recognition to Indiana and improved the quality of life for all Hoosiers.

2006 Techpoint Mira Awards Winners and Finalists:

Advanced Manufacturing Company:
Winner: MonoSol, LLC
Finalist: Cooper Standard Automotive
Finalist: Metaldyne

Educational Contribution to Technology:
Winner: Dennis Trinkle, PhD; CIO, DePauw University
Finalist: Douglas Comer, PhD; Professor, Department of Computer
Science, Purdue University
Finalist: Dennis Groth, PhD; Asst. Professor, Indiana University
School of Informatics

Information Technology Company:
Winner: ExactTarget, Inc.
Finalist: Double-Take Software
Finalist: Sigma Communications, LLC (d/b/a REVERSE 911)
Finalist: T2 Systems

Health and Life Sciences Company:
Winner: TriMedx
Finalist: Polymer Technology Systems, Inc.
Finalist: The Haelan Group

Transportation, Distribution, and Logistics Company:
Winner: Brightpoint, Inc.
Finalist: Atlas World Group
Finalist: Langham

Innovation of the Year:
Winner: Purdue University/Quadraspec, Inc. BioCD
Finalist: Ultra Infiltrant
Finalist: Imaginestics, LLC

Gazelle Company:
Winner: MarketSphere Consulting

Techpoint Trailblazer in Technology Award:
Winner: Michael McRobbie, Interim Provost and Vice President for
Academic Affairs, Indiana University

Techpoint Foundation Bridge Builder Award:
Winner: Stefan Anderson, Muncie, Ind.

Founded in December 2002, Techpoint is Indiana's only statewide technology trade group representing hundreds of corporate members, including publicly-traded companies, private businesses, colleges and research universities, and local economic development organizations. The group's mission is to transform Indiana into a recognized technology leader by developing relevant policy, catalyzing change, and measuring the state's progress.

Techpoint promotes technology-based enterprise and economic development through lobbying and government advocacy, educational and business networking programs for its members and the public, and strategic economic development initiatives. For more information about Techpoint or the 2006 Mira Awards, visit


Allison Buckner, 317-275-2086
Joshua Hall, 317-639-5135

Better Be Business Wired.

Business Wire is the leading source for press releases, photos, multimedia and regulatory filings from companies and groups throughout the world.